Which is better?? And Why??? Abit or Asus
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Which is better?? And Why??? Abit or Asus

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Posts
    50

    Which is better?? And Why??? Abit or Asus

    do you have either brands of boards?
    what do you like about it?----speed, stability, overclocking ablility ect..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,302
    Both have a good reputation and many boards to choose from. If you narrowed your choice down to a couple of boards from each, it might be easier to go over the pros and cons of each..

    "If it works it's not overclocked!"
    My Stuff

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    You should consider Soyo - you get the stability of Asus with O/C features close to those you get with Abit.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    879
    I have an Asus P3B-F. Real nice board! Stable as hell! but the tweaking options are rather limited.

    ------------------
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?

    EpoX 8RDA+
    AMD Barton 2500+ @ 3200+ (2.2ghz)
    1gb Corsair XMS pc3200
    Visontek GeForce 4 Ti4200
    WD LE 80gb 7200rpm HDD
    Sony 48x24x48x IDE CDRW
    Soundblaster Live! Audigy
    Logitech Cordless MX Duo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Posts
    50
    hikeon3
    thats the board i have
    you are right---it is very stable
    i wanted to know the best socket 370 board for overclocking.
    single or dual processors.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    879
    I'd have to go with the Soyo6vba-133 or +IV. Soyos are very nice boards and they have very good tweaking options.

    ------------------
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?

    EpoX 8RDA+
    AMD Barton 2500+ @ 3200+ (2.2ghz)
    1gb Corsair XMS pc3200
    Visontek GeForce 4 Ti4200
    WD LE 80gb 7200rpm HDD
    Sony 48x24x48x IDE CDRW
    Soundblaster Live! Audigy
    Logitech Cordless MX Duo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,302
    At this time, the only viable dual 370 board (I know of)is the Abit BP6..

    You can go dual with S370 by using any dual Slot board and using S370 to Slot converters..
    This tends to be pricey, beacause reliable, cheap dual slot boards for the most part do not exist...

    As for as single goes, you can take any slot board that Asus or Abit makes, use a socket converter and count on speed, stability, overclockability etc....
    "If it works it's not overclocked!"
    My Stuff

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Posts
    50
    i have an iwill slocket convertor for my mobo
    it only has jumpers for 66 or 100 mhz bus
    will this hamper my overclocking efforts?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •