will windows 98se see another 128mb?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: will windows 98se see another 128mb?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Long Island, NY, usa
    Posts
    981

    will windows 98se see another 128mb?

    i have 128 need more will it see it and use it
    OCN the The Darkside

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    Yep, it will see it and as far as using it, that will depend on what app you run. I have a single 256MB stick of Mushkin PC133 SDRAM.

    [This message has been edited by LaoChe (edited 04-24-2000).]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Algonquin Illinois
    Posts
    1,712
    Yup

    ------------------
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Long Island, NY, usa
    Posts
    981
    ok so y when i boot up with 128mb my system resources ar the same as when i add another 64mb????

    same stuff running i checked it after boot was done..it is reading it but i thought i should have more resources avail.

    someone told me that it only uses 64mb amd then goes to virtual mem...

    explain it to me i need INPUT!! lol (short circut)
    OCN the The Darkside

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Long Island, NY, usa
    Posts
    981
    and another thing why does mem turbo sometimes show im low on mem but resource meter says i have plenty??

    i dont understand
    OCN the The Darkside

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    845
    That's strange. Are you saying that it sees all 128 when you're in Win98, but when you first boot it only sees 64?

    ------------------
    I don’t know how I got here… I was only looking for the washroom.
    brainsoft, XiBase Alumni.

    "I don't know how I got here, I was only looking for the washroom."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Long Island, NY, usa
    Posts
    981
    Brain: no it sees it all but i dont think it uses it all....we posted at the same time read my last 2 posts
    OCN the The Darkside

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    1,101
    On my system the more I add the more windows uses. Started with 64 and would have 4-8meg unused, went to 128 and would have 25-40meg unused, now I have 256 and there is 132meg unused. I doubt the swap file is ever used and that is a big plus. I think it uses what it needs and is less prone to give it back if there is unused ram.

    My $0.02

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Hardware911 - System resources are an entirely different thing than system memory. Adding more memory generally will not improve system resources. See this link about system resources: http://www.hardwarecentral.com/hardw...utorials/83/1/
    Adding more memory will improve your free system memory for running apps and so forth, but resources are more than memory.
    Maybe I misunderstood, but I hope this helps!
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Long Island, NY, usa
    Posts
    981
    thanks guys

    so im gonna go get another 128 i do run alot of progies at the same time so i guess 256 will make a big diff.
    OCN the The Darkside

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •