Which should i buy, celeron566 or 550E fcpga for same price?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Which should i buy, celeron566 or 550E fcpga for same price?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London/Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    376

    Which should i buy, celeron566 or 550E fcpga for same price?

    I have seen both for about the same price to me in the UK. Which performs better after being oc'ed i cant make up my mind after reading the firingsquad reviews. Which do u think would do better. I have the cas2 pc133 ram, and so I would expect the 550E to do 730mhz (5.5*133) and the celeron to probably do (8.5*100). Which is better, a 730 p3, or a 850 celeron?
    Bear in mind it'll be used primarily for games, and various applications secondarily.
    Thx for the help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    wait, it's the same price??

    Here we have a 566 Cel FCPGA for 150 and 550e for 200$ (this is from my memory)

    salt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    Definitely the 550e. The Cel II are VERY unimpressive! They can overclock REALLY high but it doesn't mean squat if it performs the same as a lower clocked PIII (Cu). One web site had a Cel II 566@901 and it performed maybe a little better than a PIII650e!! The only thing you can say if you bought a Cel II 566 is that you didn't pay too much for it and you are running at 800MHz+. But if you want performance I would go with the 550e. You should be able to hit 750+ with a 550e.

    [This message has been edited by LaoChe (edited 04-18-2000).]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    1,544
    The 550E has probably the same potential as the celeron 2 with much better performance.
    A Dog is a Cat with More hair

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London/Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    376
    Dont ask me how, or why, i think a typo on the website maybe, but i've seen them both for 129pounds, ex vat, thats 150inc basically.
    If i can get them at these prices, which d'ya reckon? http://cgi.www.demon.net/cgi-bin/www...ricelist_r#CPU
    (if u want to look, its a UK shop)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    In fact, I just bought one Cel II 533 at 120.

    It seems that 150mhz is the limiting factor of most mobo/video (unless you have a Via chipset)

    salt

    [This message has been edited by saltedeggman (edited 04-18-2000).]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London/Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    376
    I've got good quality ram, micron 128mb rated 2-2-2@133 PC133. I figure there's a good chance the ram will do possibly into the 140's. That'd mean around a 750 p3, what would be the limit on the celeron, and overall which would be better d'ya reckon? My board is a Bx6 revII, and a tnt2m64 video card (which i've run fine at 83mhz before).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    Since that celemines are new, we don't know what it can do with extremem cooling. A site has taken the 566 up to 950mzh with standard cooling, just raised the voltage.

    myself, B/K, and Jopey each has ordered one today, we will let you guys posted.

    salt

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    Your ram and your AGP will be the limiting factor with a BX mobo. You'll probably have no problems with your ram running your FSB at 140 but your AGP will be at 93MHz! I don't know if your TNT will be able to hold out, but you can test it out by running it at 1/1 on a 93 MHz FSB.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London/Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    376
    I'm planning on a globalwin FKP32 and IWILL slotket2 with some thermal compound. What do you reckon the celly could hit on that? I basically reckon 133*5.5 would be the p3, 730mhz. Do u reckon the celly will go much above 850??? And presuming i use the celly at 850 and the p3 at 730, which is actually better!?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    If you are using programs that are very cpu-intensive, like 3d games, Celeron will fall behind just a little.
    http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/p3vc2/default.asp

    this is a review of both Cel II and coppermine at the same clock speed. Worth reading.

    salt

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,302
    I have C2 566 BH6 with Abit SlotketIII,,

    Rock solid 850 at 1.5v..

    I Had it at 913 and 1.6v but I was getting an occasional lock-up...

    This is with a pretty generic K6-2/3 heatsink/fan..
    CPU stays around 95-105 F...

    I plan on trying to get the temp down a bit and trying to get it stable at 900+..

    If I could have had the 550e for the same price I paid ($156) I would have bought it in a minute..
    "If it works it's not overclocked!"
    My Stuff

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    Well done, glad to hear a Cel II owner...

    salt

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    Diogenes,

    you know you might get more out of the Cel II if you have bettering I.E. Alpha would be nice.

    salt

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    Like LaoChe said, your M64 TNT2 might crap out on you.

    [This message has been edited by NiteOwl (edited 04-19-2000).]

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •