what do you guys think of this memory?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: what do you guys think of this memory?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Volunteer State
    Posts
    758

    what do you guys think of this memory?

    Is this memory really pc-133? I though that pc-133 had to be 7.5ns or faster. It seems to be a good buy, but would it o/c very well? Would it be only cas3 cause of 8ns?

    http://www.googlegear.com/cgi-bin/xp...?AD3pRGAb;;177

    [This message has been edited by Donovan (edited 04-15-2000).]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    I seen a place on Pricewatch $215 for 256megs micron 7.5ns pc133 shipped.

    ------------------
    jopecooler industries: We aim to mame, sever, and dice up any extremitity you have left to use. And if you have Ziplocks we will package it to go!


    Join the HWC - OCN Drinking List on ICQ 67864797

    All new Join the Q3/UT Acitive List. 70498309 (Please, Gaming members only!)
    whatever

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Algonquin Illinois
    Posts
    1,712
    It may run at 133/ but it would probably be runnin at cas3.

    ------------------
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    I think the PC 133 specs. does call for 7.5 ns or better chips. Did you guys look at the code on that RAM?

    MT48LC8M16M8A2-75C

    I know the web page said 8 ns, but that looks like 7.5 ns to me. Maybe the webpage has a typo?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Volunteer State
    Posts
    758
    Well, I was thinking about gettin some new memory cause I got a stick of 128 pc-100 stuff. It will do 124fsb at cas2. Pretty damn good for 8ns pc-100 I though.. Anway, I guess this pc-133 memory wouldn't be much worth the investment if I can't get 133 at cas2. I'd probably be better off with what I got now I'll keep looking I guess. Anyone know where I can get a good deal on 7 or 7.5 pc-133? Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    searh in pricewatch.com for cheap memeory, i have seen some micron 7.5ns memory for a cheap price. Myself, i lean towards good performance memory like Corsair, and Mushkin, or HSDRAM.

    P.S. Infeneon mems are also pretty good

    salt

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Donovan and anybody else:
    My mobo (Epox MVP-G5) together with an AMD K6-3 run at 112 Mhzx4 = 448 Mhz...
    I have a PC-133 128 Mhz... Im woundering if my baby would go much faster with PC-133 vs. PC-100 when I use 112 MHz on the Mobo ?




    ------------------
    *** The worst investment u can do is a buy a new computer, buy some stocks isntead ***
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Volunteer State
    Posts
    758
    Dr Mass,

    Typically a computer will only go as fast as its weekest link. If your fsb is set to 112, then your memory will go 112. Sorry, but I don't think you'll see any gain from pc-133. I'm not even sure I will see any gain myself. I'm thinking that my memory is holding me to 124fsb, but I might be wrong. If I buy pc-133, I might get lucky and get an extra 30-50mhz outa this chip. p3-450 @ 558. It runs as high as 576, but very unstable.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    93
    I brought 128MB stick of Micron Memory marked MT48LC8M16M8A2-75B, I thought it was a good deal.

    Yes its 133 MHz and the SPD detects it as CAS 2. So far I have not been able to get it running at a decent speed regardless of the settings.

    First I installed in my Gigabyte VIA MB with a PIII 533B and it would only work on the slower bios settings at 133MHz. Just under 200Mb/s in SiSoft Sandra memory benchmark for CPU/Memory.

    Checked out the Micron site and found the chip and it is 133MHz but not PC133!
    Valid Micron part numbers for PC133 SDRAM are:
    MT8LSDT1664AG-133 (16Meg x 64)
    MT16LSDT3264AG-133 (32Meg x 64)

    I emailed Micron but they ain't saying what this SDRAM is for, I guess it's for mugs like me who see Micron SDRAM 133MHz advertised $20 cheaper and think its a good deal.

    Strange thing is this SDRAM performs better @75MHz FSB on a ASUS CUBX and Celeron 466@525 and the PIII setup works better with PC100 SDRAM!

    Any ideas?

    I can resist everything except temptation. - Oscar Wilde

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    strange. What is the difference between 133 MHz and PC 133???? About the other setup working better ... the VIA Apollo Pro 133 chipset are know to be slower than BX ... the 133A are a bit better ... just one thought, is there an option for queue order depth in your BIOS? If it is there, is it set to 8? Cuz if it's set to 1, then you lose like half your memory performance ...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    also it might be Micron chips, but not Micron PCB?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •