o/c pII 400
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: o/c pII 400

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    seattle, wa, usa
    Posts
    44

    o/c pII 400

    when I try to overclock my pII 400 to 450 the monitor doesn't come on. This is on a Compaq presario 4880. Is it because it's a proprietary POS? should that have anything to do with it?

    Thanx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Middletown, NY
    Posts
    605
    Depending on when the PII400 was made, it`s probably multiplier locked and that is your problem.

    I have a PII400 that isn`t locked and was able to run@450 but, it was purchased in May `97.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    hehe, do you mean May of '98? i don't think the p2 400 was available until the beginning of 98... 'course, i could always be wrong

    anyways, when i run into heat problems, the monitor usually goes into power save mode (no signal from puter)... see if you can figure out a way to get rid of the heat better...

    if you're trying to OC a compaq presario (stock from the company), then you will probably need to get a new motherboard (and if you want to OC a lot, you'll prob. want to get a better heatsink / fan)

    good luck!!!

    ------------------
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    944
    The most I ever got was 448Mhz (FSB 112).
    The next setting I have is FSB 120 and it wont boot.

    How are you changing the Mhz?

    ------------------
    // Black Holes are where God divided by zero //
    // Black Holes are where God divided by zero //

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    The later PII 400 were pretty good for o/cing. I got mine around last August and I got up to 560 MHz, but that was with an Alpha and peltier. But I also got to 500 MHz with just generic dual fan heatsink (but I remove the casing and the heat transfer plate also).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    447
    From what i have seen, a lot of Compaq Presario's have only a passive heatsink on the cpu and NO fan. So screw that case open and see if you can add better cooling.

    ------------------
    Packard Bell forever...in hell !!!
    We came from the stars so they say, now it's time to go back. If I was conceived today, I would not get beyond eight cells, and yet here I am. In a way they were right, I don't have the heart for this world.

    The question is, why am I having so much trouble dying?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    119
    Im running a P2-350@490 and its happy I think that the P2 will have a job getting over 500 because of the core limitations ....it can be done but I think around 500 is there top.
    "You missed it was the lag!"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    seattle, wa, usa
    Posts
    44
    well... i'm overclockin' it with the motherboard... umm... can't remember the date i got it... it was right when the pII 400's came out tho... I had like the best computer you could buy at the time...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •