Overheating on k62-500@2.2v...why???
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Overheating on k62-500@2.2v...why???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    SA,TX,US
    Posts
    121

    Overheating on k62-500@2.2v...why???

    I'm kind of stumped on this one. I recently got a k62-500 and put it in a:

    -gigabyte board[ga-5aa, revision 1.3 bios{latest bios}, w/ali aladdin V M1542 & M1543C AGPset]
    -96M RAM total
    [1-32M by siemens{66mhz}
    1-64M by ????{100mhz}

    -I had this set-up running fine{w/hd,cdrom,vidcard,etc...ofcourse} with my P200 previously.
    -Ok, so i put in k62 at clock-multi x5 & fsb100mhz. Had basic heatsink fancombo found on p200 system. System locked up fast and reset. So i went and got bigger hs/fan from compusa{didnt feel like waitn around}. That gave cpu about 25-30 minutes worth of time before fatal errors, blue screen, and lockup/resets. So went to nother store and got bigger hs/fan, supposedly would cool very well. That seemed to have fixed problem, but after 3hrs of use, Half-life would just die{boot me to desktop} and even just basic websurfing i get explorer crashes{fatal errors}. Also, when i shutdown windows, comp just resets rather than shutdown. Guy at comp store thought i was oc'ing, but i'm at 5x100 w/coreV.@ 2.2V!!!! I was thinkin maybe motherboard doesn't support 5x100 very well or something. well, hope someone can help PLEASE!!!!! for more info, post here or email me please please please!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    flagstaff, AZ, usa
    Posts
    555
    hum sounds like vid card to me. or a remarked cpu. try running with case off. and is your ram pc100? try 450 and see wht that does. other then that i dunno.
    "Is it worth it to give your heart away, and live for a great period of joy, risking the chance to have your heart broken? If your heart does get broken, was it worth it to give it away? - Me"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    SA,TX,US
    Posts
    121
    Don't know how to tell if remarked...the place i got it from is pretty reliable. Running w/case off is no good, bad circulation. I ran chip at 300,400,500 to see results, and at lower mhz...system would run longer....problem is, the place i got it from{acs computers...askacs.com} doesn't guarantee cpu unless they mount it on a new mobo, wich sucks big time. Recently bought case fan{forget wich size sorry} to mount, but didn't cause i'm lazy. That would help in suckin in air to vent sys big time. Never thought that the vid card might be problem...its a trident 9600w/tvout{2mRam}...older card. And i put in my other post that i got two different speed ram...1 32M@66, and 1 64M@100. I guess i could try only the 64M, but like i said, the system ran perfect w/P200 in place. then again, p200 only run at 66fsb...need more suggestions...please please please!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    The first thing I would try is to remove your 32mb stick of 66mhz RAM. Then see how it does. Also, do you have any way of reading your CPU temps? If so, what are they? Did you use thermal paste on your heatsink? Also, does your mobo have the latest BIOS?
    You need to monitor your temp somehow. If I don't have a sensor, I use a thin temp probe with my Sears Multimeter to take reading from the CPU and the heatsink where it meets the CPU. This will tell you if your processor is overheating.
    Double check to make sure the heatsink is mated to the CPU well. Also, reseat your processor. If it's not seated properly, it will cause problems and higher heat. Another thing to try is, bump your voltage to 2.3v and see if it stablizes there. It's not a large increase and should not hurt anything. Quite a few people are having trouble with the 500's for various reasons so I really don't think you have a remarked chip. I think the 500's are just quirky processors!
    Post back and let us know what you try and what happens!
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    944

    Your PC-66 DIMM wont like 100Mhz much, so you will have stability issues with that alone.

    As far as i know AMD havent remarked up to 500Mhz.

    ------------------
    // Black Holes are where God divided by zero //
    // Black Holes are where God divided by zero //

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Ummm, forget my earlier question about your BIOS! I reread your post and see that you have the latest!
    Damn, I need glasses or something!

    [This message has been edited by AMDnut (edited 03-31-2000).]
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Hey Tiberia - check out our post times!
    Sweeet!
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bloomington, IL, USA
    Posts
    566
    janzer, I THINK i might know what your prob is. If its not heat, then make sure you download a patch from microsoft for win 98( i assume thats what you got). This patch is for amd k6-2s above 350 mhz. I built a comp recently and what seems like heat problems were all fixed by this patch. Tell me if you can't find it.
    -rambo

    ------------------
    R.A.M.m.y.B.U.S.: Robotic Artificial Mechanized Machine Yearning for Battle and Ultimate Sabotage
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    94
    I am having that problem as well with the 500 K6-2. I am using PC 100 128 mb of RAM, newest BIOS upgrade. The temperature sensor, however, says I am running at 50C just at POST! Doing anything labor intensive locks muy system. I have a Cool3DFX heatsink (60X60X25) and 60mm fan on it. I also used theraml grease.
    K6-2 500@500 at 2.1 volts
    w/ modded PEP66
    Tyan AT 1590S MB
    2 X 128 PC133 Kingston
    ATi Rage 128
    WD, Maxtor, Quantum HDs

    Will get more when the money comes in.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    RAMmyBUS - I think the patch your talking about is for Win95 only. I could be wrong, but I think it only applies to Win95.

    dbzeag - 50c at boot is rather hot, how many case fans do you have? You should have a couple to help with cooling. Your heatsink sounds like it's big enough to handle the job, so I tend to think your ambient case temp might be high as well. A heatsink can only cool to a few degree's higher than the air around it. This is why additional case fans are required. They can remove the heated air inside the case, and draw cooler, fresh air into the case.
    This is a longshot, but does your power supply fan blow out of the case? This is very important because most ss7 ATX mobo's have the socket/CPU sitting right next to or below the power supply and if the PS is blowing inward, the heated air from the PS will cause the CPU to run hotter. Most cases exhaust PS fans, but a few use the PS fans as intake fans also.
    Hope this helps a little.

    [This message has been edited by AMDnut (edited 03-31-2000).]
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    94
    I have an 80mm fan in front of the chip (it is an AT board) The power supply is facing out. I have 3 fans to cool the hard drive. I have a full tower so there is a lot of ambient air to move around. I have a slot fan as well in the back to take out the hot air. I have tried posting with the case off and the temperature is pretty much the same. Is it just the chip? My 475 acted the same way, but a little bit cooler.

    K6-2 500@500 at 2.1 volts
    w/ modded PEP66
    Tyan AT 1590S MB
    2 X 128 PC133 Kingston
    ATi Rage 128
    WD, Maxtor, Quantum HDs

    Will get more when the money comes in.....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    737
    i'm afraid my k6/2 450 does the same.
    After about 30mins of gaming it locks up and runs very hot!
    some proccesors produce more heat than others cos of there manurfacturing differences(week, plant)
    bump up the voltage more or get a peltier.
    if thats no good take the ***** back and get a new one!

    ------------------
    C.O.L.D.F.U.S.I.O.N: Cybernetic Obedient Lifeform Designed for Fighting and Ultimate Sabotage,an Individual Optimized for Nullification

    visit my Website!
    Athlon XP1600+ @2000+ Alpha PAL 8085 MSI K7T266 R126 512mb Crucial CAS 2.5 DDR
    Gainward Geforce 2 Pro /450 GS 2 40Gb 60GXP's In RAID 0 Black Dell P791 SB Live PLatinum 5.1 Black GW 802

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Norfolk England
    Posts
    375
    Coldfusion

    If it's overheating the last thing it wants is more volts.
    Higher voltage=More heat
    Gigabyte 8KNXP P4 3.0 HT 800fsb 1024mb Infineon PC3200DDR ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    3DMark2001SE= 17215 2x36gb 10,000 Raptors (RAID-0) Pioneer AO5 DVDRW Lite-On 52x32x52
    Iiyama 17" TFT UT+UT2K3 = Euthanasia

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    737
    i know but he could try it
    Athlon XP1600+ @2000+ Alpha PAL 8085 MSI K7T266 R126 512mb Crucial CAS 2.5 DDR
    Gainward Geforce 2 Pro /450 GS 2 40Gb 60GXP's In RAID 0 Black Dell P791 SB Live PLatinum 5.1 Black GW 802

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Aurora IL, USA
    Posts
    573
    I don't think overheating is the problem since you tried a better heatsink, lowered the clock, and are running at the standard 2.2 voltage, and experience problems after only a few minutes from a cold start. The PC66 RAM is a very good suspect. Another one is the motherboard. As I recall, some of the earlier 100 Mhz FSB mobos were not entirely stable at this speed. Try 5.5 x 83 or 5.5 x 95 if you have that setting. Maybe try the 2x setting in case it is remapped to 6x. I'd try the .1 volt increase first.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •