New to o/c'ing need some help, Please?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New to o/c'ing need some help, Please?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Columbia, Missouri
    Posts
    335

    New to o/c'ing need some help, Please?

    I was just wondering if you have to remove the origional fan and heatsink on the processor before you can install a new one? I have a P3 600E FCPGA running on an Asus P3V4X. This is probably a pretty stupid question. Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks,
    x64208203

    ------------------
    Excuses are like arse holes everybody has one,
    and they all smell like crap.
    My Current System:
    CPU: PIII 600E @ 840mhz
    Mobo: Asus P3V4X
    Video: Geforce 2
    Sound:SB Live! X-Gamer
    HDD: WD 40 gig IDE
    CD-ROM: 48x off brand
    CD-RW: TDK VeloCD 16x/10x/40x
    Connection: Cable Modem
    Monitor: 17" Sony Trinitron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    no such thing as a stupid question. You do have to remove the original hs/fan to use a aftermarket hs/fan.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    266
    Niteowl you are spreading an atmoshpere of support and understanding. YOur a good moderator.

    Jared

    ------------------
    celeron 266 running at 420@2.10 volts with factory fan and heatsink

    I have the 600e on the way. Global win VOS32 is on the way also...
    Finally got the 600e and the Global win VOS32. Now I need some good ram...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    na, I am just one of the guys (or gals).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Columbia, Missouri
    Posts
    335
    Thanks NiteOwl now all I need to know is how hard it is to take the original heatsink and fan off of the 600E FCPGA? and how to do it? Just a little scared that I might mess something up.

    ------------------
    Excuses are like arse holes everybody has one,
    and they all smell like crap.

    [This message has been edited by x64208203 (edited 03-29-2000).]
    My Current System:
    CPU: PIII 600E @ 840mhz
    Mobo: Asus P3V4X
    Video: Geforce 2
    Sound:SB Live! X-Gamer
    HDD: WD 40 gig IDE
    CD-ROM: 48x off brand
    CD-RW: TDK VeloCD 16x/10x/40x
    Connection: Cable Modem
    Monitor: 17" Sony Trinitron

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    you have a FC PGA, right? so doesn't it go on a slocket? Correct me if I am wrong (cuz I use slot 1 650e myself so I am not too sure), but don't the hs just pop right off like any socket 7 hs?

    [This message has been edited by NiteOwl (edited 03-29-2000).]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Columbia, Missouri
    Posts
    335
    Yea it does use a slocket adapter. I just wasn't sure if it just poped off or was secured to the chip somehow. I was kinda afraid of busting the chip. Thanks for all the help.

    Thanks,
    x64208203

    ------------------
    Excuses are like arse holes everybody has one,
    and they all smell like crap.
    My Current System:
    CPU: PIII 600E @ 840mhz
    Mobo: Asus P3V4X
    Video: Geforce 2
    Sound:SB Live! X-Gamer
    HDD: WD 40 gig IDE
    CD-ROM: 48x off brand
    CD-RW: TDK VeloCD 16x/10x/40x
    Connection: Cable Modem
    Monitor: 17" Sony Trinitron

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    well, I saw one once before, and there might be some Intel gloob holding it together ... but the one I saw had it separated already (it was in my friend's computer shop).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •