Cyrix MII 333
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Thread: Cyrix MII 333

Hybrid View

Cyrix MII 333

Has anyone had much experience with this chip? How fast can it be overclocked? I am new to overclocking.

My mainboard is a Soyo 5EHM Super 7, with the ETEQ82C663 chipset. The CPU bus clock can be set at 66, 75, 83, 95, 100, 112 & 124 mhz and can be multiplied to 5.0.
    http://www.realworldtech.com/hardware/focus/sy-5eh.cfm

Cyrix recommends 75 mhz bus at 3.5x, so if I am understanding this right, the CPU is running at 262.5 mhz (?).

I know the only way to do it is to just play around with different setting and see which one works. But clearly I don't want to do something like 124 mhz at 5.0x! Where would be a good place to start?

Also, I understand that the system can run unstable at certain bus speeds. I am currently having problems with freeze-ups and inadvertent rebooting. I thought it might be an overheating problem so I have ordered a cpu fan recommended for this chip.

I am new to a lot of this, any help would be appreciated.

Sadly, even at .25 microns, the Cyrix architecure is limited to, at most, about 300mhz (on average...ive heard some crazy cases, but this is the normal limit). You might try 2.5x100mhz if you have PC100 ram or your mobo can run the memory at 2/3 FSB, this is the setting for the PR 366. With your cache running at 100mhz, its sure to be faster. 2.5x112 or 3x100 would probably be the absolute best you can do, if your ram and the processor can handle it. Remember, increasing the bus is better than increasing the multiplier, as your cache also runs faster. Often, clocking the processor slightly lower with a faster FSB results in higher performance

------------------
    This signature space FOR RENT

[This message has been edited by MadCat (edited 08-03-99).]
    This signature space FOR SALE