Celeron 400 + V3K + HalfLife = ?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Celeron 400 + V3K + HalfLife = ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    X
    Posts
    283

    Celeron 400 + V3K + HalfLife = ?

    I plan on getting the following:

    Celeron 400 + 440ZX mobo
    64 MB RAM
    Voodoo3 3000

    What performance will this setup do with HalfLife? Can I get 60fps @ 1024x768?
    Pentium III 600@800
    256MB PC133 Kingston ValueRam CL2
    ASUS P2-99B i440BX/ZX mobo
    MSI Geforce3 Ti 200 @ 200/450
    Maxtor 20GB 7200 rpm hd
    ASUS 12x DVD-ROM drive

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    165
    Half-life is very hard on your hardware... I don't think you will get 60 at 1024x768... probably around 30 at 800x600..

    Kebo
    C:
    C:RUN
    STOP LOOKING AT MY :

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    X
    Posts
    283
    What hardware would you get to get 60fps @ 1024x768
    Pentium III 600@800
    256MB PC133 Kingston ValueRam CL2
    ASUS P2-99B i440BX/ZX mobo
    MSI Geforce3 Ti 200 @ 200/450
    Maxtor 20GB 7200 rpm hd
    ASUS 12x DVD-ROM drive

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Volunteer State
    Posts
    758
    It would take an awefull damn lot of power dude. I'm nudgin 40 in blowup.dem at 1024x768 with a voodoo3 3000 and p3-450 @ 558. Now if your talkin like average frames (not hardcore), you might come close to gettin that already with your setup. Although you definately could use more ram.

    [This message has been edited by Donovan (edited 03-08-2000).]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    X
    Posts
    283
    Yes, I'm talking about average fps in normal gameplay, not demo tests like Quake2 crusher or any of that.

    Maybe I'll bump up the RAM to 128 MB.
    Pentium III 600@800
    256MB PC133 Kingston ValueRam CL2
    ASUS P2-99B i440BX/ZX mobo
    MSI Geforce3 Ti 200 @ 200/450
    Maxtor 20GB 7200 rpm hd
    ASUS 12x DVD-ROM drive

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    a BX mobo would probably help quite a bit

    ------------------
    Shameless plug:
    Athlon 500@880 (4.00 X 220), 2/5 cache, 1.80V
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    X
    Posts
    283
    Isn't a ZX board the same as a BX except for the limited memory capacity and PCI slots?
    Pentium III 600@800
    256MB PC133 Kingston ValueRam CL2
    ASUS P2-99B i440BX/ZX mobo
    MSI Geforce3 Ti 200 @ 200/450
    Maxtor 20GB 7200 rpm hd
    ASUS 12x DVD-ROM drive

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    165
    No diff. between ZX and BX.. BX can just cache more RAM. ZX is limited to 384mb I think.

    Kebo
    C:
    C:RUN
    STOP LOOKING AT MY :

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    893
    The only difference is the ZX is only limited to 256megs while the BX can have up to 4 double sided dimms (i.e. 512meg.) I know some can have more, but if you read the Abit ZM6 mobo review on anandtech it will explain this ok.
    Intel P4C 3.0Ghz
    Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
    2x256mb Corsair Value Select PC3200
    eVGA e-GeForce 6800
    WD 120gb SE
    IBM 60GXP 60gb
    Creative Labs Audigy (free)
    Toshiba SD-M1402 (12x dvd/40x cd)
    Lite-On 52x24x52 ($15 retail )
    Pioneer A06 DVD+/-RW
    ThermalTake Silent Purepower 420W PSU

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Miami, FL, US
    Posts
    224
    I have a system running at 429MHz (78 FSB) Celeron, 64MB PC133, and Voodoo2 and you will get VERY nice frame rates.

    This is not accurate but with timerefresh I get something like ~150fps.
    Cel 366@500
    196MB PC133
    Voodoo3 2000 AGP

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 1998
    Location
    Margaritaville
    Posts
    264
    I don't know about 60fps @1024x768 but you should still get very solid performance with that setup. My Dad's 433 with a Rage128 (which is a good bit slower than the V3 3K) plays HL very smoothly at 1024x768. If you're just worrying about the single player aspect I wouldn't sweat it at all. There's only a few points in the game that bog down like most of the Half-Life demos. I find a good crowded multi-player match to be where the real hardware stress test takes place. And even then you should be fine although I'd recommend dropping your res down a notch for multiplayer.

    And odds are pretty good that you could overclock your 400 at least a little, if not quite a good bit depending mostly on your hard drive and other components. 450 (@75MHz fsb) should hopefully be a given. Which motherboard were you looking at? If you're interested in overclocking a Celeron try to find a board with as many fsb speeds between 66 and 100 as possible.
    Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •