Temperature probe
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Temperature probe

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Lawrence, KS, USA
    Posts
    795

    Temperature probe

    Anyone know where I can buy or how I can make a temperature probe to monitor CPU temperature? I want to monitor my temperature on my dual PPro's, so I'll need two probes. Possible three, one more for my VooDoo. Thanks.

    Ryan

    ------------------
    Ack!!! My molecule's have lost their cohesion... Quick, turn off that fan!
    Tried to save myself but my self keeps slipping away...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    check out plycon.com. I use the four-probe "temperature monitor center"

    works great!

    ------------------
    Shameless plug:
    Athlon 500@880 (4.00 X 220), 2/5 cache, 1.80V
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Lawrence, KS, USA
    Posts
    795
    Thanks, but I was hoping to do something more along the lines of $10 or $20 in radio shack parts and some soldering.

    However, that is a pretty cool gizmo... I probably won't end up needing it, but who knows.

    Ryan

    ------------------
    Ack!!! My molecule's have lost their cohesion... Quick, turn off that fan!
    Tried to save myself but my self keeps slipping away...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Posts
    1,220
    I believe rs sells a temp probe, but not sure the cost. You can get the indoor/outdoor probe, that has a piece you can stick in the case. However, it's only one probe per...
    I call it "No-Pants Wonderday," but it turns out the police just call it "Thursday." Go figure.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,979
    Im using the idea that splatt mentioned, modified car temerature meters, they work fine, just stick the sensor that is meant to go outside the car, on the cid card chip or whatever, and the display somewhere outside on the case, u just need a 12v supply- of which there are plenty inside the average pc!!

    This sig In memory of my kid sister, Mandy. Died 14-8-02 aged 30.
    Murdered for nothing at all by Louise Berry

    CALV

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Lawrence, KS, USA
    Posts
    795
    Thanks for the tips guys. I'm gonna make a trip down to radio shack tonight to look for some fun stuff to play with. I'm about to do my first few overclocks, and I'm really excited.

    Thanks again!

    ryan

    ------------------
    Ack!!! My molecule's have lost their cohesion... Quick, turn off that fan!
    Tried to save myself but my self keeps slipping away...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •