Those Above 900 MHz Please Check In™
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Those Above 900 MHz Please Check In™

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269

    Those Above 900 MHz Please Check In™

    I have just ordered a whole bunch of things that are going to help get past the 1 GHz mark so all I need now is a good processor to get.

    Can you guys kindly give me specs on your processors?

    What's better... FC-PGA of Slot 1?

    What are your batch numbers?

    And any ohter information you think I should know?

    Thanks a lot everyone.

    One more thing... this is for Intel. Don't have the peripherals for Athlon's.

    Cheers

    ------------------
    It Is Now Safe To Turn Off Your Computer
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    my 650e is a 99500 476-0094, Malay, SL3KV. I think Big Lar's can go a bit higher than mine. Just watch your AGP bus if you gonna go BX. I myself likes the slot 1 better cuz I can use a slot 1 Alpha or the new Globalwin VOS32 (if you can find it). But the FC might give you more options in the future if Intel starts flexing their muscle and push mobo manufracturer away from the slot 1.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Algonquin Illinois
    Posts
    1,712
    Same chip as NITEOWL here,< Been to 988/ SL3NR... ( aren't they all ) , fpo batch 99500524 ( week 50 ).

    ------------------
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    BTW, mine is oeml. I think Big Lar's might be retail.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,750
    Since you're still dealing with a locked multiplier, you have to raise FSB speed. The goal, then, should be to raise the FSB as little as possible to prevent screwing up your PCI/AGP bus speeds and rendering your cool hardware useless. Start with at least a 750MHz coppermine with a high multiplier so you can keep that FSB reasonable.
    P4 2.8@4.0 dual R134A phase change chillers with 600watt thermoelectric array. Capable of -70F
    Nixie tube numeric display control panel and pneumatic motherboard tray.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    You know my biggest prblem is buying a processor upon first release. I guess the problem is knowing that you can get that same chip for US 400.00 less in about 5 or 6 months.

    What ever the case, I'm sure I'll work it out.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Toolbox

    I'm sure you know my specs by now so I wont bore you with it again. I think the 700 will get over I gig with my water cooling.

    That would be a 143fsb which is still pretty high.

    AS TN said a higher multiplier is better for the rest of your systems components but can also be less overclockable. Do you remember that the PIII 600 .25 was generally less overclockable than a PIII 450. It appeared to be eaiser to get the 450 to higher mhz.

    Although our little battle on HWC between (NiteOwl, Big Lar & Myself) has shown That the 650 went higher eaiser, it's not a scientific test and mine should get the gig with cooling, where as the high fsb is giving the others problems.

    What I trying to say is that a higher multiplier won't always lead to a higher overclock.

    You'll also need good ram, video card and Mobo.

    Good luck. BladeRunner

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Based on that BladeRunner, let me know if you think I'm going to do okay:

    Abit BE6
    3Dfx Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    256 MB Step-Thermodynamics PC100 7ns RAM

    I'll change the RAM of course, but not until I get all my overclocking things first.

    I really wish I could trade my BE6 for a BF6 so I have better choices when it comes to overclocking?

    Maybe I'll start another thread for that?

    Thanks all and keep posting so I know what direction to go towards...
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    manila, philippines
    Posts
    2
    cool.....from the philippines as well.

    manuel

    [This message has been edited by manuel (edited 03-01-2000).]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Another FLIP. Good.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    Hmmm... Toolbox, maybe you should start a "Flipping Flippers from Philippines"-thread like my "Norske Normenn fra Norge..."

    Duckman

    ------------------
    ------------------------
    Visit my homepage:
    Duckman's Wild Page
    Site Content: Overclocking, cooling and a lot of BS about Me, Myself and I.
    Sorry, I didn't hear you, I was staring at your breasts.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    330
    I build and fix PCs for friends and got kind of a cool little story here. Last week I was building a P3 700 for a guy I know. Got one of the new Alpha hs/fan combos with the copper insert for it. Anyway I was still waiting for a CD burner for that system. A friend of mines wife went out and bought him a brand new HP P3 800mhz system for Valentine's day. So he goes and buys a SoundBlaster Live for it and wants me to put it in for him. I said no problem...just let me have it for a couple of days to get it in and get all the bugs out of it. So now I had a P3 800 in my hands [at least for a couple days] and a sweet Alpha cooler to try on it. I slapped the 800 in the system I was building and it booted right up. Got it up to 1064mhz [133mhz FSB]. I played around with it for a whole day and it was really running stable at that speed . But that was it...started getting registry errors any faster [135mhz FSB]. Was on a Soyo 6BA+4 board with PC133 HSDRAM. Damn, wish I had that chip instead of my 550E! So that is my experience above 900mhz.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    You know I'm glad you shared that story. I put money on how far the Coppermine can go and I said it COULD reach 1GHz+. Now some smart asses in here were saying 800MHz was about the limit ,blah,blah,blah...You know it really bothers me being right all the time.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Wayne, PA. 19087
    Posts
    77
    Hey Duckman, i just had to say that i love the quote on your signature man, i totally agree!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    733
    If it is genuine 7ns ram then it's rating should be 143Mhz with potential to go further so you might not need to change it.

    The formular for converting the nanosecond speed to Mhz is

    1000/7ns= 143Mhz

    Normal PC 100Mhz ram is 10ns

    1000/10ns= 100Mhz
    Athlon 1Ghz AXIA Stepping
    Abit KT7a Rev1
    256mb generic
    CL GTS 32ddr
    Vortex 2 (2048)
    GXP60 20Gbytes

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •