celeron 500 ==> o/c
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: celeron 500 ==> o/c

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    48

    celeron 500 ==> o/c

    hey all..got a prob..
    i have a cele500 chip sitt'n on A-bit B6-II motherboard..
    the multiplier is fixed at 7.5. now the computer runs fine at 563mhz...(and i mean smooth ***)..the temp is abt 40C and the CPU voltage is sitt'n at about 2.05V (this is at 75mhz bus speed X 7.5)

    now when i increase the bus speed to 83mhz and the cpu voltage to 2.3v...windows just doens't like it...on startup..last time it totally crashed..i had to reinstall everthing...yesteday when i did it again (after a full reinstall)...it said that the registery is stuffed...and wind will restart u'r computer now..and then started the 'loop'
    cpu tem about 45-48C

    is it because my chip can't handle it or is it because there is some prob with windows 98(SE)

    any feedback greatly appreciated...
    thanks
    ashish

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    48
    by the way guys...my windows is installed on a SCSI segate harddrive...and my scsi controller card is Adaptec (i know it's not the best but oh well i have it ;o)

    pls snd me feedback

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    27
    Im no expert at ocing but those temps sound very high to me. You have raised to voltage to 2.3v which is going to put the heat of the cpu up **** loads. You may need better cooling eg better heatsink/fan or even a peltier to cool the chip. It may not be a cooling solution might just be that hdrive etc cant take those bus speeds but im not sure how much u can push your setup. If u can lower the voltage to 2.2v it may boot.

    Ebonix

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    48
    yeah i tried dropp'n the voltage to 2.2v but dammm it got stuck at the god damm LILO...

    so had to increse it to 2.3v

    yeah i have ordered a new heatsink and a couple of slot 1 fans..so just waiting for those...

    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Tulare, CA, USA
    Posts
    126
    I'm running a cel 500 also, and it's doing the same to me. I don't think the 500's are gunna be good oc'ers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    88
    I got exactly the same thing with mine. However with an alpha370 and a peltier, I've managed to get it stable (enough) at 625. Temperature is a big factor on this chip as its so new. I try to keep mine bellow 30C. The problem could well be with the h/d. The BE6-2 won't do the 1/3 PCI at 83, and above this it will only do 1/3 for certain processors (I managed to get it to switch at 85 for a P-III). There are people working on this so the answer will be told soon.

    ------------------
    www.seven-internet.co.uk
    Pokemon love to overclock
    www.seven-internet.co.uk
    Pokemon love to overclock

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    48
    cool...thanks for u'r feedback ppl

    in b/w what the hell is a alpha370 and a peltier??? ;o))

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    88
    The alpha 370 is a heat sink http://www.micforg.co.jp/cat_pfe.html , its very tall and using it would obscure the first two ram slots (leaving only one free). The alpha alone won't help you reach 625, you would need some kind of extra cooling for this chip.

    A peltier is a thermoelectric device (TEC), it electronically pumps heat from one side to another http://www.melcor.com/cpseries.htm , in doing in so it creates heat it self. The 'cold side' can be as much as 70C cooler than the hot side (this varies) therefore if I can keep the hotside temperature low ,using a heatsink or water, it is possible to get sub room temps. (or even sub zero) on the cold side and therefore your CPU.

    [This message has been edited by -Psyduck- (edited 02-19-2000).]
    www.seven-internet.co.uk
    Pokemon love to overclock

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    48
    jee..thanks for u'r help dude..

    ashish

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    San Leandro CA
    Posts
    681
    It sound to like your scsi card cant handle the 83mhz FSB. Thats what crashed your HDD

    ------------------
    You did what to who's dog for how many jellybeans?
    You did what to whos' dog for how many jellybeans?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Elkhart Lake WI
    Posts
    575
    my celly runs 622 fine at 2.2v. i'm runnin 2 12v@5amp peltiers and liquid coolin them.my system temp is about 12C...its stable to about 690 but from 650-690ish my bf6 piece'o'**** won't enable the 1/3 pci and i toasted 2 very new western digital hard drives. but i can run it stable all the way to 690@2.3v but it hot, about 26C...(conservative cache settings too..) i wish the 1/3 pci worked from the 80-90 FSB settings..i ran my 366 and confirmed what i was told by others...the 1/3 doesn't work till 92,93 FSB...so my poor western d's where at 45+mhz before there death.!!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Lechlade
    Posts
    125
    i got my 466@633 using an alpha PAL-6035
    this is at 2.2v and temps at this exact moment are 29c.Do you think i can go higher with a peltier??cos i dont know if its just heat thats stoping me

    ------------------
    ask not what you can do for your computer...
    more what your
    computer can do for you. *Hint Hint*

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    48
    i don't think that it's my scsi card (or maybe it is)
    cuz the very first time when i overclocked it...i could actually load up windows..but win would crash say after 20mins. (and then after abt 2-3 boot ups .. some of the system files got stuffed..so i had to reinstall win again (and i mean a total reinstall)...

    after the 2nd reinstall i have not been able to boot up at 623mhz (at startup it says that registery is stuffed)
    so this is quite confus'n as i'm not able to reach a solution as to what's the main prob..

    but right now 563mhz is smooth *** and i'm just waiti'n for my new dual fan celeron fan...after that comes i'll try and overclock it further

    hope it works
    after all we all are addicted overclockers

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    88
    cold how far into windows can you get if you go higher, will it boot? The peltier lets me boot to above 500@650 but I have trouble with windows cause of this annoying 1/2 PCI. Without it I can't get into windows at 625, but with some errors when it heats up a bit i.e. cruching prime numbers or SETI). I really annoyed about the 1/3 PCI. The manual is so sly about it as well.
    www.seven-internet.co.uk
    Pokemon love to overclock

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    48
    hey duck
    well to be honest...when i first overclocked it to 623mhz...win was smooth as a baby..i ran scandisk for say 15 mins and then started runn'n defrag but it was at this point that it crased...so bummer

    umm CAN someone pls explain me what's overclok'n got to do with PCI and AGP speeds..and also expain me this 1/3 and 1/2 options that u can choose in the bios..pls pls pls


    thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •