help me!! new udma66 drive not working on BE6-2
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: help me!! new udma66 drive not working on BE6-2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Lechlade
    Posts
    125

    help me!! new udma66 drive not working on BE6-2

    i got this new ibm udma66 drive and i cant get the thing working on the udma66 channels?
    i am using the cable i got with the M/b.
    someone help me because i need it a udma66
    is it something in the bios?? how do you get the two udma66 channels working????????????

    ------------------
    ask not what you can do for your computer...
    more what your
    computer can do for you. *Hint Hint*

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1998
    Location
    Huntsville, Tx
    Posts
    498
    I had to boot the drive on the -33 channel, load the -66 drivers in windows, then shut down the computer and move the cables to the -66 channel...maybe that will help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Lechlade
    Posts
    125
    yea but even when i put the drive on the channel it doesnt even detect the drive itself!. what bios setting do you use??

    ------------------
    ask not what you can do for your computer...
    more what your
    computer can do for you. *Hint Hint*

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,249
    Do you have the latest bios on the motherboard and the latest UDMA/66 drivers from Abit?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1998
    Location
    Huntsville, Tx
    Posts
    498
    the bios doesn't detect the drive even when on the -33 channel?
    make sure that everything is configured correctly in the BIOS...check your jumper settings on the drive itself. it probably should be on master, but that depends on the layout of the system.
    one weird note-on a recent system I built, the drive wouldn't be recognized until I put the drive on "cable select-CS"...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Lechlade
    Posts
    125
    no it is reconised on the 33 channel but not at all on the 66 channel.please help me???!!

    ------------------
    ask not what you can do for your computer...
    more what your
    computer can do for you. *Hint Hint*

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1998
    Location
    Huntsville, Tx
    Posts
    498
    do you have windows installed on the drive? did the drive or your mobo come with drivers for the -66 channel?
    if you don't have windows installed on that drive, load windows on the -33 channel, load the -66 drivers, shut down the computer, switch the cables back to the -66 channel, and it should work...if windows is installed, boot into windows with the -33 channel, load the drivers, then switch acables etc...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Lechlade
    Posts
    125
    ok thanx alot man i'll try that.
    tell you how it turns out
    i'm gonna use the orignal hot rod66 drivers.
    it sure is a wierd problem though
    oh is it something to do with enabling the channels?? cos you can only enable or disable channel 1 and 2?? not 3 or 4

    ------------------
    ask not what you can do for your computer...
    more what your
    computer can do for you. *Hint Hint*

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1998
    Location
    Huntsville, Tx
    Posts
    498
    everything I have said came from my one experience with a udma-66 drive on a system that I built, i guess that the drivers have to loaded in order for you to enable the extra channels...good luck

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,550
    BE6-II is a P.O.S.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •