Building a puter for a friend
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Building a puter for a friend

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714

    Building a puter for a friend

    So, what do you think about these specs and prices?

    Motherboard (K7M w/o audio)- $147
    CPU (trinity micro modded Athy)- $310
    RAM (256mb PC100 cas2) - $359
    Case (AOpen HX45)- $45
    Fan (Arctic Circle)- $50
    Power supply (Antec PP-303X) - $33
    Hard drive (13 gb UDMA66 Maxtor) - $100
    monitor (19" .26mm) - $278
    CD-RW (4X plextor) - $158
    DVD (6X CL)- $83
    keyboard + rat (wireless Logitech)- $73
    Video card (ASUS V6800)- $263
    Sound card (SB Live! Value)- $39
    modem (something non-winmodem)- $50
    floppy (errr... generic)- $10
    building fees (cause every dog's gotta get a bone)- $50

    total w/ an estimate of $100 shipping = $2148

    whatcha think? all comments are GREATLY appreciated!!!

    Thanks!!!

    ------------------
    If you get a cryptic email, this is why:
    0xF2EFBF0B
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Miami, FL, US
    Posts
    224
    your friend is loaded
    Cel 366@500
    196MB PC133
    Voodoo3 2000 AGP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    yeah, no doubt... he was ready to spend like $3k on a pre-built system (Hell, Gayway, Crappard Bell, Hewlett Crappard, Comcraq, etc...)

    hehe, i should've told 'im i could beat their prices by $400 to $500 and pocketed the rest, but what can i say, i'm a sucker for the un-initiated

    anyone see problems with the system? things i forgot?

    Thanks!

    ------------------
    If you get a cryptic email, this is why:
    0xF2EFBF0B
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    Can I be your friend too????

    if he bought a dell, they would have crammed a M64 TNT2 32 mb down his throat plus a no o/c mobo.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    anyways...

    he really wants to order it sometime before this weekend... so if you spot any problems, lemme gnow

    thanks!

    ------------------
    If you get a cryptic email, this is why:
    0xF2EFBF0B
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Somewhere between Purgatory and Hell called Ohio
    Posts
    498
    You might want to make his computer cable modem ready by adding a NIC.

    ------------------

    -Goff
    -Goff

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    How 'bout switching that Logitech rat to MS IntelliRat w. IntelliEye. Dam much smoother movement, and you dont have to worry about a sticky trackball. i love mine, thats for sure!!

    Duckman

    ------------------
    ------------------------
    Visit my homepage:
    matrix.crosswinds.net/~sverresjo/duckman.htm
    Site Content: Overclocking, cooling and a lot of BS about Me, Myself and I.
    Beats the heck outt of some quack charging me through the bill, just to grope a bunch of places I don't even touch....

    Hardly ever.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Outside my head. . .
    Posts
    513
    What about some case fans? You might want to add some big cfm suckers to keep it cool, especially if you are going to oc it.

    Also, I agree with goffenhiemer, you should put a good NIC in there as well.

    I spent some serious cash on my systems (I got four plus two I built recently for family members) , but not $2200 bucks for just one!

    ------------------
    "I Want Everything And A Kite"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    MACHUPO. Drop the maxtor HD and pick up a Western digital or IBM. they aren't much more and they are better Hd's.

    ------------------
    Can some one stop those voices in my head telling me to Overclock my computer!!!
    whatever

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    finally... back from class...

    Anyways, yes, i've got a couple of 80 cfm'ers i'm going to throw in there (one as a blowhole, the other as an input)

    to answer the Q about the NIC... he already has one in his old system... i really told him that if he's going to get such a nice system (w/ DDR GeForce, esp.) that he's going to be doing a bunch of net gaming, and will really, really want a cable modem... so he's thinking about that... that's the reason that i didn't really specify a modem, cause he may decide to just go w/ the nic (but will probably need a modem when he goes home over break).

    Is that Macro$haft mouse all it's cracked up to be? I had heard that IR isn't as good as radio (used by Logitech)... anyways, i could use some edukashun on this whole mouse thing

    as for the hard drive... it needs to be UDMA/66 and around 13-20gb... but when i looked at the IBMs they were all quite a bit more expensive (with these specifications)

    once again, any help is greatly appreciated!

    ------------------
    If you get a cryptic email, this is why:
    0xF2EFBF0B
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Go with what Duckman said, I second that emotion as I have both here, an Intelieye explorer and a logitech cordless. Actually they are both connected and they both work. It's quite usefull when friends come round. I would prefer a Cordlees intelieye but I hardly use the logitech one now. It's a good mouse but the Microsoft one is just better. (It's also excellent in Q3)

    Also maxtor HDD seem to be quite sensitive to oveclocked fsb's. I find Quantum or IBM better for this.

    BladeRunner

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Why don't you change the Hard drive to a Seagate Barracuda UDMA/66 20.4 GB?
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mi. U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,506
    Ditto on the hard drive. I tried one of those new 7200 RPM ata66 Maxtors and its performance didnt come close to my IBM hard drive... and it was actually a noticeable
    differance.
    New Hardware Central
    members homepage
    http://www.hwcpics.totalserve.co.uk/
    Formally known as Rich3077


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •