Athlon 500 o/c @ ?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Athlon 500 o/c @ ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Madisonville
    Posts
    32

    Athlon 500 o/c @ ?

    I have a week 44 chip with a 650 core. Should I be able to reach 700 with a GFD? I'm new to this game and don't want to fry anything, but I can't stop the noise in my head. I'm driven to experiment with overclocking by some force outside of myself.
    I would appreciate any advice on the subject.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    If you wanna o/c it you will need to do some iron soldering... otherwise you have to purchase of those "Golden Finger" which lets u do it without the soldering part.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    If I were you, I would set it to 650Mhz and then stop worrying. Since it is a 650 core, you will not need to worry about it ever again and anyway, what is an extra 50Mhz?

    Now if only I had the guts to open up my Athlon 500...
    I am only a student, so it would take me ages to save up for it again.

    USSVoyager

    ------------------
    Speed is everything - Warp factor 9, Mr. Sulu!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Outside my head. . .
    Posts
    513
    USSVoyager,

    You're missing the whole point of this forum. Most of us Focus on the Overclocking of 'Cases and Overclocking'. Maybe you're in the wrong area. All of us here have oc'ed computer that we are trying to push to the limits. We push the envelope. We try to achieve that highest warp factor (9.1, 9.2, 9.3! 9.4!! Go, Baby, Go!). Do you understand? We our always pushing our systems harder, trying to reach that land of infinite megahertz.

    ------------------
    "I Want Everything And A Kite"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Home of the 2002 Olympics!
    Posts
    1,418
    salt, in case you missed it, GFD=Golden Fingers Device.
    Only way to find out if you'll hit 700 is to try. However, I suspect you will easily hit 750. But again, the only way to find out is to try. The possibility exist that 650 will be the limit!

    ------------------
    success unshared is failure


    Learn how to sell on eBay at www.PowerSellerPros.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    538
    Mine is week 48 650MHz core "500MHz Athlon"

    So now it's 750MHz Athlon with 2/5 L2 div!!!

    With the help of some soldering though!!!
    Todor
    mollov@mail.bg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Madisonville
    Posts
    32
    mollov19,
    How much difference does the extra 250mhz make? I plan to use a K7OC card. Do different methods of overclocking an Athlon produce greater or lessor preformence yeilds at a given rate? For example, if I use K7OC card and you use solder to reach 750mhz from very simliar chips, will our chips really preform equally?
    I'm not sure I made sense.

    Great football game, but the Rams got lucky two weeks in a row. Next year the Saints are going to humiliate them, then Tenn. and Tampa will laugh. Eddie George rules!!
    Sorry I strayed from the topic, but it's the superbowl.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
    Posts
    320
    Morov,

    Do you know how to change the L2 Cache div through soldering ??

    I got the same Athlon 500 with 650 core and at 750 seems that the L2 Cache is limiting me. Sometimes I just cant reach the OS to run WCPUA2.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    545
    Use the 650 first, change the L2 cache at win98 and reboot. Confirm having changed the L2 cache and o/c it to 750.....

    Just my theory which you can try....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
    Posts
    320
    ETSEAN,


    Unfornutanely I dont have a GoldFinger yet.. so to change the multiplier I have to soldering.. mine now is at 7x... and at 700, L2 1/2 works fine... but at 7x107 (750) it only gets 100% stable with L2 at 2/5.


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •