Worst luck on an Athlon
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Worst luck on an Athlon

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488

    Worst luck on an Athlon

    I just picked up a week 51 500 today, and it's only a 600 core... Damnit! Well, I guess I'll see what I can get out of it....

    ------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    766
    i got my months ago and it was a week 40 600 w3.3 ns cache and it'll do 750 all day.. Planning on going to 800 one day..

    but the worst luck would be you

    break it in half trying to get the damn casin off..

    overheat the pcb when soldering and raise a few traces..

    spill a shaker full of salt on the core....

    Give it a bath with that nice water cooler you just installed...

    Just a few "pick me ups"



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    True... I guess my luck is far from the worst... In this house I think more likely the path to its destruction would be someone driven crazy by the holidays deciding to stomp on it... (or maybe when I make my OCing card +5v will get sent directly into the core... that would definitely be bad)

    ------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    ,
    Posts
    12
    Bad luck??? You got an Athlon 600 for the price of an Athlon 500. You should be happy. As for me my Athlon 500 is an Athlon 500.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    I kinda overspoke myself. I was really expecting a 650 core.. What week is yours?

    ------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mi. U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,506
    Hey fellas,

    Anyone know where I can get an Athlon
    500 with a 650 core??? I am trying to decide
    between getting a 500 and overclock to 650.. or get a 750 and overclock to what it will let me.

    Thanks
    Rich H.
    New Hardware Central
    members homepage
    http://www.hwcpics.totalserve.co.uk/
    Formally known as Rich3077


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    A 650 core should be able to do 750 easy. Put some good cooling and you might hit 800. I have heard that week 42-45's tend to have 650 cores.

    ------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    My cache has a -36 on it. I'm guessing this means 3.6 ns cache? ARRG! looks like I'm going to have to go to a 1/3 divider to get over 600 mhz...

    ------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    766
    3.6ns isnt that bad.. it just means that you will need very good cooling if you up the voltage enough to make it to 700+(@1.8-1.85) i have seen a 500 with a 500 core and 4ns cache make it to 850+ 1/2 @1.9v with a good peltier setup and water cooling. It's a game of tug of war.. I am running an athlon 500 w 600 core and 3.3 ns cache @ 750 1/2 @ 1.8v that easily goes well beyond the "rating" of the cache. the higher voltage will increase your likelyhood but there is a limit.... with 3.6ns cache i would not expect to go higher than 1.85v and 750 mhz aircooled...however with good cooling ( keep it below 100f ) you should be able to hit 750 1/2...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    1
    week 51?
    0.18 micron or 0.25?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    you could always go with the 2/5 cache divider...

    ------------------
    Damn, OCing is taking over my life... I ordered an Iced Athy Latte at Starbucks the other day!!!
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    I don't think they make the 500's in .18 micron. I think it's only the 750's. Also I don't think there's a setting for 2/5 cache divider, only 1:1, 1/2, and 1/3.

    ------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    I take that one back. From what I read, the bios tends to automatically scale the cache back to 2/5 when the processor is set past 650. Anyone know anything else on this?

    ------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Townsville, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    43
    Ok this is going to soud rather stupid to some but where do you find what week/core your proccessor is?
    i take it you have to crack the casing ?


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    the week number is on the outside. it's the last 2 digits on the bottom number. The core speed is on the inside though. Printed on the core itself.

    ------------------
    MooOoo!
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •