USB problems after o/c-ing Althon 500@700
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Thread: USB problems after o/c-ing Althon 500@700

Hybrid View

USB problems after o/c-ing Althon 500@700

Hi Everyone. I'm really a newbie here on o/cing and need some advice from you guys.

I just got my Athlon o/c to 700mhz by realigning the SMD resistors thru' resoldering. Everything seems to be superbly stable but the USB components. It seems that none of my USB devices are responding. They are detected upon booting up windows but stop responding thereafter.

At first, I thought I burned my mobo or something and brought it back to the retailer to test it. USB works fine with their untouched CPU!

I then tried my o/c-ed CPU on a loaned Asus K7M. USB works fine as well!

Don't know what's wrong and what to do. Please advice.

My system configuration is:

AMD Athlon 500@700 1/2L2
    Biostar M7MKA bios version mka1223b AMD750 chipsets
    LGS PC-133 128MB ram
    Htitachi PC-100 128 ram
    Matrox G400 D/H 32MB
    SB Live x-gamer
    Seagate 13.6G UDMA Harddisk
    Logitech USB Mouseman Wheel
    Altec Lansing ADA305 USB Speakers
    US. Rebotics 56K Voice Faxmodem USB
    Ti USB General Purpose Hub
    Logitech iTouch Keyboard
    Win98se

Please email and post advice as well. Thanks in advance guys!

Lara...will you marry me?

Check IRQ setings. Disable COM and LPT ports if you dont use them. Chek memory ranges for all devices.

Did the USB devices work b4 overclocking? It could be a problem with your configuration or a fault in the motherboard.

------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

I would buy a USB card. They go in a PCI slot on you're system and don't cost very much. If that dosn't fix you're problem, I don't know what to say asside from, buy a K7M. You already know every thing works fine in one of those already.

------------------