Shot gun modems
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Shot gun modems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Blainville, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101

    Shot gun modems

    Hey guys how do you do to shot gun 2 modems and which modems would be best suited to do this

    Thanks,
    Mike

    ------------------

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,249
    I have done it with US Robotics and a Boca. It works if your ISP will let you have concurrent log on and support it. My ISP does. However they would dump one modem if their system got to busy.

    I switched to Cable modem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,750
    Any two modems will work, at least when using Win98's built in multi-modem application. In Windows there is nothing special to do after you install both modems, you simply use dial-up networking to connect the first modem to the internet, and a checkbox in the Dial-Up networking window will allow you to "add additional device" which lets the second modem dial and adds the connection together as a single, faster dial up connection. you need two phone lines, as well.
    P4 2.8@4.0 dual R134A phase change chillers with 600watt thermoelectric array. Capable of -70F
    Nixie tube numeric display control panel and pneumatic motherboard tray.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Blainville, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101
    So what you are saying is I need two seperate phone lines, two different phone numbers, right??

    ------------------

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Taylorsville, Utah, USA
    Posts
    2,169
    Yes, 2 phone lines = 2 phone numbers
    You also need to check with your isp and see if they are able to set you up to use 2 modems. Some ISP's charge extra when you use 2 modems, plus you have to pay for 2 phone lines, then you still have to pay for the ISP. So after its all done you could be up to $50-60 a month. Should just wait for Cable or DSL to get in your area

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    203
    Most dual analog ISP's charge 1/2 price for the use of the second line. I have had a dual modem setup for almost a year now, it works great. Surfing is a little faster, downloading is twice as fast, I sometimes can get 15 kbs, average around 11 or 12 kbs. On a single line I only average about 5 or 6 kbs. I pay $29 a month, but this is going down soon I am told.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    394
    Hmm...I would have thought the best way to "shot gun 2 modems" would be to put two modems up against a good solid backstop, load up your shotgun, aim, and pull the trigger. What I would want to know is, what is the best type of shot to use to get maximum destruction of the modems. Obviously it wouldn't be slugs, because they would just make a big hole. I'm guessing some type of buckshot would be good, probably the smaller types with more pellets, fired at close range so the expansion diameter is still small enough to get good coverage of the modem.

    ------------------
    If it isn't broke, you're not trying hard enough.
    Justin "JJR512" Rebbert
    http://www.makeitsimple.com/cgi-bin/...i?action=intro
    ICQ: 52675695



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    I would recommend crushing them into pieces (baseball bat, then mortar and pestle would be the best method) small enough to fit down the barrel (of a muzzel loader of course). then fire into some sort of wall..
    what do you get?
    shotgun modem art!

    ------------------
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Posts
    1,220
    LOL - actually, shotgun is Diamond's tradename for multimodem. They put out their own internal 'shotgun' modem that has 2 modems built into it. If you go to their site [url0www.diamondmm.com[/url] and go to the shotgun modem section you can search for isp's that support shotgun (and most will support any dual modem setup. One told me it wouldn't guarantee it working with another brand, and had a setup charge so I didn't try it

    I tried it briefly. It would have been fine, but my main phone line would only support 28.8 connect! :P That sucked. You'll get away with about $30/mo for the isp, but still have to pay $15-25/mo for the second phone line...

    Can't wait for dsl!!!
    I call it "No-Pants Wonderday," but it turns out the police just call it "Thursday." Go figure.

  10. #10
    Jeffy79 Guest
    Pull!!!

    ------------------
    "That's my story and im stickin to it!"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •