Cel 400, 433, or 466?????
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cel 400, 433, or 466?????

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Blainville, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101

    Cel 400, 433, or 466?????

    Which Cel would give me more out of it if overclocked??, Have a 400 @ 600 now but would like to get more and someone is interested in bying my 400


    Thanks.
    Mike

    ------------------

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Lechlade
    Posts
    125
    i think you should definately go for the 466 if you can cos it can o/c more and if you can streach to a cel 500 it would be worth it. i've heard people getting their cel 500 up to 800 and beyond!. you could get ate least 600 or 650,700

    Later

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    With the 500 you'll need some SERIOUS cooling stuff. I just made my 466 run at 665 with HSF/TEC, which is quite an achievement. Now I just cant wait to get my watercooler running. The 400@600 is great, and don't xpect to make the 466 or any other celeron to run faster than that without any funky cooling.

    Duckman

    ------------------
    ------------------------
    Visit my homepage:
    matrix.crosswinds.net/~sverresjo/duckman.htm


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    I agree with duckman. ther is only one post here at HWC that a guy says he has gone over 800MHZ with a celeron core. the limit of the core is about 600 mhz. I would go with a 366-433 just because of the multipliers. just look at what your mother board offeres and do the math to see what you can get around 550-600 mhz.
    whatever

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    545
    Why not get a P3 500E if your mobo support it?

    If you are selling your mobo too, get good PC133 and the Via Pro133/133A based mobos.

    You 'should' do a 667 very well with that AGP 1/2 divider.

    Plus that FSB - PCI speed!!!
    Running FSB at 160mhz with your PC133 running at 120mhz. Your P3 500E might just do a 800mhz!!!

    Well, these are just what I read on the Net that gives the FSB - PCI speed for that RAM.

    With the 1/2 AGP divider, you cannot go wrong.

    Just one small problem:

    This chipset is not so mature as BX chipset, hence also WILL NOT be better than BX speed to speed and FSB to FSB in many things. But the performance hit is just less than or equals to 5% at most, not very significant to me with that highly safe increased speed possible.

    Think about it!!!

    Happy Y2K!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    What is this supposed to mean:
    "Plus that FSB - PCI speed!!!
    Running FSB at 160mhz with your PC133 running at 120mhz. Your P3 500E might just do a 800mhz!!!"????

    The RAM is running at the same speed as the FSB!!

    Duckman


    ------------------
    ------------------------
    Visit my homepage:
    matrix.crosswinds.net/~sverresjo/duckman.htm


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    Only one rule, if you are overclocker.

    Buy chip that people buy the moust. Whay?

    In that wahay there is big chanse for you to get much faster chip then you payd. Whay?
    Becuose when they make them they dont make 300MHz or 400MHz they just make them and look what while hepend and if market looks for 400MHz models they are forced to mark. faster chips with slower rating.
    If todays limit for Celeron is 500 i would pick 400MHz.

    My example. I have two K7 CPU-s that I buy as 500 versions. One had 650 core second 600
    firs work great at 700 and second at 600 with original voltage settings (1.6V).
    My frend got 600MHz K7 and core is also at 600, and hee could not get even 650 without voltage tweaking.

    Is your call, but if mony is not problem buy Coppermine.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Blainville, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101
    I already have a 133 board, Soyo 6VBA 133, Have the Cpu running at 6 X 100, the ram at 100Mhz and my AGP at 66Mhz, without any special cooling what so ever and the temp is at 45 Deg. maybe a bit warm but I think I'm still under spec


    Thanks guys

    ------------------

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •