under-clocked
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: under-clocked

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1

    under-clocked

    Hello, I have an Iwill XA100+ with an AMD K6-2 450 and I am usibng Win95 when I first built it the monitor read that it needed to be in safe mode for some reason unbeknownst to me.A friend said that it was overclocked. I reset the jumpers to 300 and it has been running really well...yada, yada, why wont it run at 450 ?

    ------------------

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Titusville, FL. USA
    Posts
    135
    You need an update file for Windows 95, I don't remember at what speed it is when 95 I/O drivers can't handle it(I think 350 or 400) But you can get the update file at www.amd.com Then after you install it you should be able to put your CPU back to 450.
    T-Bird 1000Mhz @ 1200Mhz(109.09(218.18DDR))FSB 1.65v
    MSI K7T Pro2-A(MS-6330)
    128 PC133 Crucial @ 145.45 CAS 2
    Hercules 3D Prophet II GTS(230/366)12.41
    SB Live!
    Maxtor 20GB 7200RPM 2MB cache
    40x Asus
    TDK VeloCD 16/10/40/32A
    KDS VS-195 19"
    Netgear 10/100
    3-button Logitech
    Wyndoze ME

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    He is right. When You hit 350Mhz with a K6-2 in Win'95, you get blue screens and everything going wrong, something to do with timings. Get the update from AMD's web site.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Olympia,WA,USA
    Posts
    39
    Man I'm glad I read this. I couldn't figure out why the hell my k6-2 300 wouldn't do any faster then 350 w/out the blue screen.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Olympia,WA,USA
    Posts
    39
    Damn, I just checked the info at AMD's web site and that patch only applies to Win95 SR2. I got Win98

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    35
    The problem doesn't apply to win98, so your processor must have been overclocked. And I ran a 350mhz AMD with win 95 b4 I got the patch, and you don't get blue screens, on about 1/4 of boot ups it crashes b4 windows saying something very similar to "windows protection error, you must restart your computer", and when it does load windows it works as normal. The problem gets worse as the clock increases, and on a 450 chip you would never get windows to load up at all. Try running the chip @ 400mhz first, not 300 and see what happens. Also, if you want to get your moneys worth out of the compy, get a heavy duty fan and heat sink; read reviews of them from the tutorials section of this site, or demand a new CPU from whoever you bought it from.

    ------------------
    Cheers,
    Del
    Cheers,
    Del

    SOLTEK SL-75KAV
    Duron 750 @ 750
    3DFX Voodoo Banshee 16 meg @ 115/117
    EIZO Flexscan F550iw 17" monitor
    128 megs PC133 PQI SDRAM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    Your Cpu isnt overclocked. Its more than likely that your core voltage is too low.. This is what to do.. Find out what type of k6-2 you have.. It will eith be a CXT core, with a core voltage of 2.2 volts or a CHX core with a core voltage of 2.4 volts.. To find out which you have simply remove your heatsink from your cpu and read it off the top of your processor. Then double check your core voltage settings. With windows 95 however you will need that patch to run @ clockspeeds over 350 with a k6-2.. good luck!!

    ------------------
    ~{*SPEED LIMIT 1000MHZ*}~
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    oh and one more thing, if you do decide to over clock, you will need to increase the core voltage over default to get it stable or to even boot into windows,.. ie if you have the CXT core, you should be safe up to 2.6 volts and with the CHX core up to 2.8 volts respectively..

    [This message has been edited by AMD100 (edited 12-27-99).]
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •