Overclocking k6-2 400 Advise Wanted
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Overclocking k6-2 400 Advise Wanted

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Northampton,England
    Posts
    57

    Overclocking k6-2 400 Advise Wanted

    I wanna clock my k6/2/400 to 500.
    My kit is M537dma33 vxpro+ m/b, 128m (64 dimms, 64 Simms) Conexant softk56 modem, Matrox Mystique G/C.
    I can get to 450 (6x75 @ 2.5v), runs ok on most applications. But when I'm surfin it locks up after a few minutes. Tried the 83m fsb but can't even get a screen.I've tried big heatsinks, big fans and sanyo OS-CON capacitors all over the board but at the end of the ducking fay I'm stuck at a ****ty 6x66!!!
    If I need a new M/B, which is the best one to go for with simm & dimm sockets.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    simm sockets on MB that supports 100Mhz FSB????
    I think u need new MB. AT DFI K6BV3+ or ATX Iwill XA100plus.
    With 75 or 83Mhz FSB settings U overclocking your AGP PCI (graphic) and ISA (maybe modem)slots also IDE controler and proboly that is the reason why your sys lockups. Your memory if is PC66 also is the problem. If you upgrade MB then u probobly need graphic I would recomedn V3 2K because in my expirience is the best choice for SS7 systems.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    Personally I think DFI sux, but thats just my 2 cents, but the Iwill XA100+ is a very stable O/Cing SS7 mobo! I'd go for that.. good luck and Have Fun!!

    ------------------
    ~{*SPEED LIMIT 1000MHZ*}~
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Allentown, PA 18104
    Posts
    58
    Go with the EPOX MVP3G-M Mobo. Have one and it rocks...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Titusville, FL. USA
    Posts
    135
    I know the EPoX MVP3G-M has some extra bus settings that you can use with SoftFSB, but are there any different jumper settings that can enable them? (ie. 103, 115, 120)
    T-Bird 1000Mhz @ 1200Mhz(109.09(218.18DDR))FSB 1.65v
    MSI K7T Pro2-A(MS-6330)
    128 PC133 Crucial @ 145.45 CAS 2
    Hercules 3D Prophet II GTS(230/366)12.41
    SB Live!
    Maxtor 20GB 7200RPM 2MB cache
    40x Asus
    TDK VeloCD 16/10/40/32A
    KDS VS-195 19"
    Netgear 10/100
    3-button Logitech
    Wyndoze ME

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,750
    Pull out the slow SIMM memory, and try it again. There is a small chance the DIMM is crapping out above 66MHz. The K6-2/400, or for that matter any K6-2 chip, is difficult to overclock. They run hot and seldom are plugged into a decent motherboard. I'm guessing that your motherboard isn't using half of the memory you have anyway. I never heard of a board that supported DIMM and SIMM at the same time. I don't think it can work. Usually it needs either DIMM or SIMM, and either buffered or unbuffered memory. If it works, thats great, but I've never seen it happen. Apparently its not screwing you up too bad. The crash after a few minutes is likely due to CPU temperature, if its predictable. If you get crashes at just any time its probably the PCI bus speed causing your hard drive to flake out. Or possibly the memory is failing - but I don't think your FSB is high enough to cause memory problems. Hell, I don't know what to tell you.
    P4 2.8@4.0 dual R134A phase change chillers with 600watt thermoelectric array. Capable of -70F
    Nixie tube numeric display control panel and pneumatic motherboard tray.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •