Overclocking Celeron 366@550 w/Tyan mobo-HELP!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Overclocking Celeron 366@550 w/Tyan mobo-HELP!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    W Springfield, MA USA
    Posts
    56

    Overclocking Celeron 366@550 w/Tyan mobo-HELP!

    I have a Costa Rica Celeron 366/66 (Slot 1), the S-Spec is SL376, there isn't an 'L' code, but there is a number that reads, "08511496." I don't know if that means week 51, but I read that week 21 or higher is better, yet a different source states that weeks 49-51 cannot overclock to 550. I would like to overclock to 550, or at least 450-500, but I need some specific directions from you gurus. I have a Tyan S1894 440BX Slot 1 motherboard "Tiger Cub 100" (that's what the receipt says). The manual for the mobo shows jumper settings for the 100MHz bus at 350(x3.5); 400(x4.0); 450(x4.5). Which do I use? There are no jumper settings for any bus speed between 66 and 100. And how do I adjust the voltage, and what do I set it to for stability? I have a standard cooling setup. I haven't installed anything yet. The rest of the specs for my current system:

    128MB PC-100 Ram
    two 4.6gig IDE
    CL TNT2 Ultra
    40x CD-Rom
    cable internet and ethernet card
    (and hopefully getting Diamond MX300 sound)

    Please help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    69
    schwa,

    I cant help you much with the processor info.. but the settings are bus speed = 100 MHz and the multiplier must be set at 5.5.. Thats what gives you the 550 MHz. the celeron was designed to run at 5.5 x 66 MHz which gives you the 366. leave the multiplier at 5.5 and just increase the bus speed to 100 MHz.. The PPGA's are supposedly better for overclocking then the slot-1's...but good luck..
    ------------------
    This statement is a lie.

    [This message has been edited by tharkun8 (edited 12-17-99).]
    This statement is a lie.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    The jumper settings are actually for the multiplier only if you read carefully, and those multipliers are only used for older PII CPUs that didn't have their multipliers locked. Since the multiplier is locked at 5.5 within the Celeron 366, don't worry about it. Just go into the bios and set the FSB to 100 MHz. At least, that's what the S1894 manual at the Tyan web site says on page 29, but the bios section doesn't show any adjustments. So you'll just have to look in the bios for yourself. I don't know if there are any other settings such as 75 MHz and 83 MHz which are normally used for Celeron O/C.

    The Tyan S1894 mobo is not setup for overclocking so you can't adjust core voltage. For O/C you really need an Abit or Soyo mobo which have many FSB settings and provide for CPU core voltage adjustment.

    Regarding slot 1 366s maxing out at 415, I've been running a retail slot 1 366 at 458 since May with no problems or extra cooling. Just thought you should know.

    [This message has been edited by Dave_B (edited 12-18-99).]
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    144
    I believe you have a 98 week 51... Not a good candidate for OC'ing...

    Actually have not heard of any slot1 366's that were good for more than 415 (5.5 x 75)..
    You could have an exception though..

    [This message has been edited by cyanide (edited 12-17-99).]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    W Springfield, MA USA
    Posts
    56
    Well that's some depressing info. I guess I can shoot for 415, and then try 550. So should I set the jumpers to the highest setting and then set the bus speed to 100 in the BIOS? Or does editing the BIOS overide the jumpers anyways?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Höör, Skåne, Sweden
    Posts
    698
    Bios shouldn't override jumpers so just go ahead at 5.5 and set the bus at 75, 83 or 100 in the Bios and keep your fingers crossed....

    ------------------
    I Thougth I Saw A Putty Cat...


    * OCN Hellspawn *
    ------------------
    I Thougth I Saw A Putty Cat...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •