Sandwich a Slotkey converter card ?!?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sandwich a Slotkey converter card ?!?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    92

    Sandwich a Slotkey converter card ?!?

    Hello guys,

    Back again ...

    I want to attach my retail heatsink/fan on the back of my slotkey converter card so I get even more cooling ... At the front side I've got a Global Win FDP32 running smoothly.

    Is this usefull and if so, how can I attach the heatsink/fan combo on the back of the converter card ? There are pins from the socket370, can I just glue the thing onto the converter card, or do I have to put something in between ?

    Some hints would be usefull.

    Thanx.

    Intruder
    P4 2,[email protected],5 Ghz <> 512 dual channel DDR500 <> ATI Radeon 9700 [email protected]/660 <> WinXP SP1 <> 1x120+1x30 Gb <>
    ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
    P4 2,[email protected],7Ghz <> 512 DDR400 <> Geforce3 Classic <> WinXP SP1 <> 4x40 Gb <> ASUS P4B533-E
    P3 [email protected] Ghz <> 768 DDR400 <> Win2003 Server <> 3x10 Gb <> Epox bla bla bla.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,275
    Just make sure that whatever you put back there doesn't conduct electricity or you'll fry your chip!
    Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear to be bright until you hear them speak.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    92
    You got that right, I knew that already.

    My question was:

    How must I attach the heatsink to my converter card at the back and what kind of material do I have to put between it ???

    P4 2,[email protected],5 Ghz <> 512 dual channel DDR500 <> ATI Radeon 9700 [email protected]/660 <> WinXP SP1 <> 1x120+1x30 Gb <>
    ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
    P4 2,[email protected],7Ghz <> 512 DDR400 <> Geforce3 Classic <> WinXP SP1 <> 4x40 Gb <> ASUS P4B533-E
    P3 [email protected] Ghz <> 768 DDR400 <> Win2003 Server <> 3x10 Gb <> Epox bla bla bla.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Anacortes,WA,US
    Posts
    98
    Just use some silicone sealant or something, just be carefull and double check that the heatsink isnt touching anything.....

    ------------------
    MustardCat &gt;;-P

    Celeron [email protected]
    256MB Ram
    Abit BF6 Mobo
    VooDoo3 2000 @ 185

    MustardCat &gt;;-P

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    San Leandro CA
    Posts
    681
    IMHO I dont think putting a HSF on the back of a slocket will do anything considering it will not come in contact with th cpu.

    ------------------
    You did what to who's dog for how many jellybeans?

    You did what to whos' dog for how many jellybeans?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    I don't have any suggestions on how to do it, but doint it at all will only have a limited effect. You may be able to get an extra degree out of it. It would pretty much be like sticking a heatsink on the back of a socketed motherboard. I'd say it's worth a try though, considering you aren't spending any money on it.

    ------------------
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    92
    Thanx for the info guys, but I have done something else.

    My Celeron [email protected] has a Global Win FDP32 and it is hardly even warm after hours of playing 3d games. So I think it won't be worth the trouble.

    I now have put my retail cooler from my Celeron on my Voodoo3 3000 heatsink and I can now move it up to 198 Mhz. Before I had a small 486 fan on top of the heatsink and could only get it to 194.

    Quake 3 Demotest:

    1024x768 --&gt; Timedemo 1 --&gt; All visual settings at high --&gt; FPS = 45,3

    That's nice enough, so I have got something out of it !

    Anyway thanx for the help.

    F.S.
    P4 2,[email protected],5 Ghz <> 512 dual channel DDR500 <> ATI Radeon 9700 [email protected]/660 <> WinXP SP1 <> 1x120+1x30 Gb <>
    ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
    P4 2,[email protected],7Ghz <> 512 DDR400 <> Geforce3 Classic <> WinXP SP1 <> 4x40 Gb <> ASUS P4B533-E
    P3 [email protected] Ghz <> 768 DDR400 <> Win2003 Server <> 3x10 Gb <> Epox bla bla bla.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •