new topic can i put thermal paste over there ?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: new topic can i put thermal paste over there ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    94

    new topic can i put thermal paste over there ?

    http://bxboards.com/archives26.shtml
    its a good idea but can i really put thermal paste on the chips ?
    and will i really need to if i am using a alpha cooler ?
    PIII 933
    Asus Cusl2
    100 gig
    well i had the v7700 deluxe
    now i have the v7100 i cannot "see" the difference though

  2. #2
    Sterling_Aug Guest
    I put thermal compound on all of my BX chips.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    94
    ok but what about the components at the back of the cpu read the site above and look at the picture
    i dont want to fry the sucker because its thermel paste that might conduct electricity
    i already have the system up from 500 @630 and am wondering if i do this will it help or am i just wasting time tweking the ultimate system (tweeking it as far as it as far as it will go 700 mhz sounds nice no ? anyone know if i can get it up there ?
    \
    PIII 933
    Asus Cusl2
    100 gig
    well i had the v7700 deluxe
    now i have the v7100 i cannot "see" the difference though

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Fremont, CA USA
    Posts
    120
    I would SERIOUSLY ask that guy what the hell he's smoking.

    The ends of those transistors (Not sure if they're resistors or what) are where the contact is made with the PCB... You short all those together with conductive thermal paste (And I'm not sure if there's NON-conductive thermal paste) and you've got yourself a 2- to 4 hundred dollar doorstop.

    Even if his thermal paste isn't electrically conductive, that metal pad has GOT to be. I don't see how he keeps his PIII from frying.

    Good luck in getting that 500 to go to 700 without a liquid cooling system. I'm designing one that will cool the L2 cache as well as the main slug.
    "The mind wobbles." -K. Bundy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    488
    I think the most popular thermal pastes are non-conductive, but that still seems like a risk to me. I'd go with a thermal pad if I was going to do that.

    ------------------
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q
    MoooOooOoo damnit!!
    -SkrUboL
    www.prism.gatech.edu/~gte166q

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Fremont,CA,USA
    Posts
    92
    maaaaaan thermal paste whoops fragtape!
    HardOCP results.
    Paste - 54-56C FragTape - 61-62C
    This is for a vid card not CPU sry but i think it'll work


    ------------------
    Fear LTPRPM because I am LTPRPM...

    Comp Setup: Pentium III 550mhz,128mbs PC-100 SDRAM, 17 gig Seagate HHD, Guillemot Xentor 32 (the best baby the best!), Sony IDE Cd-RW (4x4x24),6X DVD, crappy ESS-SOlo PCI audio.

    Comp Setup: Pentium III 550mhz,128mbs PC-100 SDRAM, 17 gig Seagate HHD, Guillemot Xentor 32,Sony IDE CDRW 4x4x32x,8x DVDROM, Guillemot Fortissimo Sound - Second Comp Dual Celeron 366 at 550 (5.5x100) on Abit BP6, 256mbs CAS 2 PC100 SDRAM, 30gig IBM 7200rpm UDMA/66, Guillemot 3d Prophet, Soundplaster X-GAMER

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Trondheim, Norway
    Posts
    90
    Most thermal compounds are non-conductive, and there's no danger in putting it on the BX. Actually you should, at FSB 124+ the little greenie gets hot! I haven't fried anything yet and I have spilt that compound about everywhere

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •