OC Celeron 400 on Abit BP6
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: OC Celeron 400 on Abit BP6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    8

    OC Celeron 400 on Abit BP6

    Pardon my confusion.

    I am trying to OC two Celeron 400's on a ABIT BP6 mobo. If I could get 500 it would be OK, but I understand most can get 550 out of them.

    The ABIT has a lot more parameters in the Soft Menu than what is usually mentioned when people say they OC'ing.

    It lists:

    CPU operating speed
    Turbo Frequency
    External Clock
    Multiplier Factor
    AGPCLK/CPUCLK
    Speed Error Hold
    CPU's Power Supply
    CPU1 Core Voltage
    CPU2 Core Voltage

    Which settings must be changed, and what should they be changed to to get OC at 500?

    What about 550?

    Is there anyway to compute this?

    Thanks very much for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    304
    Altho the question has been asked over and over.. and some people get pissed at such redundancy... we HWC members are more than willing to help out still! right guys? hehe

    anyways, back to your questiosn. I have the exact same things you have, BP6 and C400.

    the only things you have to consider in the softmenu are:

    1. CPU Speed = User defined
    2. Turbo = Off
    3. External Clock = FSB speed, for 550 you need 92 FSB (92 x 6 = 552)
    4. Multiplier = 6 (Do not change this!)
    5. AGPCLK/CPUCLK = 2/3. (i.e. 92 x 2 / 3 = 65Mhz)
    6. Speed Error Hold = Disable
    7. CPU Voltage 1 = 2.0 (If it doesn't boot into Win try increment .5V at a time)
    8. CPU Voltage 2 = 2.0 (Only if you have a seoncd CPU)

    CPU Speed = FSB x Multiplier.

    400Mhz (Default) = 66Mhz x 6
    450Mhz = 75Mhz x 6
    498Mhz = 83Mhz x 6
    552Mhz = 92Mhz x 6
    600Mhz = 100Mhz x 6

    For your AGPCLK/CPUCLK, always use 2/3 so that it runs close to 66Mhz. Unless your AGP card can support higher speed without exploding.. hehe.

    reply for more help!

    laterz!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    8
    K4 you are brilliant.

    I had a hunch that this information existed, but after spending several hours browsing numerous OC sites, I was never able to find the info in a succinct enough fashion to be useful.

    I think you've done it.

    Thanks a lot.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    8
    k4.

    I seem to be OK at 550 and 600. However, I am getting a message about the CPU being unworkable. I have to press F1 to continue.

    Is this normal. If it is, can I make a change to avoid it in the CMOS.

    Also, I notice that when I reenter the CPU Soft menu after changing it, it says that it is at 300 mhz, and I seem to lose all my setting. Is this normal?

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    538
    Well K4 told ya to set speed hold error to disable - that'll fix the problem with the unworkable cpu!!!
    Todor
    mollov@mail.bg

  6. #6
    Sterling_Aug Guest
    Here is an excellent article listing all of the BIOS setup options for overclocking.

    http://www.thetechzone.com/articles/overclocking/bios/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,750
    Sterling, your link said what I would never take time to explain to most folks. I have often wished someone would host a site with information about specific BIOS settings for specific motherboards. Hell, I could do it myself if I had a stack of current manuals for the most popular motherboards. There simply can't be more than 50 boards out there in use by 99% of everyone reading these posts. If we all sent a copy of the BIOS options to HWC or a volunteer, perhaps(please,God, not me), then it would make the job easy. It would generate a HUGE number of hits, take my word for it. My silly site could go commercial and I don't even mention any BIOS settings.
    P4 2.8@4.0 dual R134A phase change chillers with 600watt thermoelectric array. Capable of -70F
    Nixie tube numeric display control panel and pneumatic motherboard tray.

  8. #8
    Sterling_Aug Guest
    I can't take credit for the above article, it was written (and very well written I might add) by a friend I met online at Ars-Technica named Apex. He is one of the most helpful overclockers you could ever find.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,771
    K4,

    I hope you meant .05V steps and not .5V like you stated.


    ------------------
    Mike
    www.monster-machines.com
    Mike
    Mechanical Engineer
    Dell Computer Corporation
    Server Development

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    304
    ****!! Typo! Increment .05V at a time, NOT .5V!! Thanks Dimarini for pointing out. *I hope I didn't fry his cpu*

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •