Overclocking a Celeon 400/466
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Overclocking a Celeon 400/466

  1. #1
    se99ts Guest

    Overclocking a Celeon 400/466

    I am looking at upgrading my pc and am considering a dual 466 system what speeds should i be able to o/c this to and would i be better starting with a 366 or 400.

    I would also be interested to find out in your oppinion wat are the best dual celeron boards soyo or abit?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Your best bet is to start with the dual Celeron 366 pretested to 550 MHz. They are the most overclockable chips right now and they fit really well into the Abit BP6.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    The best dual Celeron mobo is the Abit BP6 without question. As for the 366/400/466 option, only you can decide. The guaranteed 366s are a little pricey and will require an good heatsink/fan. On the other hand, you can get a retail 466 for only $84 and it's a cinch to get to 525 MHz with the FSB set to 75 MHz. And if you add the better heatsink/fan you'd need with the 366 to 500 guaranteed setup, you'll have a chance at 581 MHz or higher with all those BP6 FSBs. So with the cheap price of the 466s, that would be my recommendation especially if 525 MHz seems good enough to you for only $84.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    18
    I have 2 466 Celerons, I can just about run 2 * 588 in Win2000, and 610Mhz in Win98

    The strange thing is the chip post flawlessly up to 665Mhz but then then lock at Win98 Splash screen.

    Temp is about 40C

    ANY IDEAS???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,249
    TNproud2b - Nice work! was that a custom waterblock? Have you had any problems with the radiator inside the case? I saw another one with it mounted outside.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    18
    Cheers for the pic TNproud2B, nice metalwork!!

    I also have 2 31W Peltiers, I was thinking I could couple these directly to the CPU's and then direct water cool them with waterblocks, how do you think this would work?

    I tried with w/cooling and the peltiers before, but the peltiers were not direct water cooled and the CPU running temp was higher than with a h/sink and fan. I think the direct w/cooling might stop the peltiers from overheating, what do you reccon??

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    18
    Don't worry about any leaks, I tried w/c before and had a leak, about 1/2 liter of water emptied over my mobo when ON!!

    I switched it off, striped it, and put it in a low oven, 75C for 2.5 hrs.

    It still works

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    I also had some water leaks BUT I tested it extensivly outside of my system till I got ride of the leaks. Now I have condensation?????????????

    home.rochester.rr.com/winterchiller/




    [This message has been edited by jopey (edited 11-14-99).]
    whatever

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chico, CA USA
    Posts
    6
    Do you guys know if the ABIT BP6 will run with just 1 Celery in it or does it have to have 2 in it?? Not that the price of Celerons is too high! I was justr wondering if the motherboard still functions with one CPU?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    yes it will work with one celery!
    whatever

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    FINLAND
    Posts
    115
    What the Hell is this Hoochcooler?
    I'm ingnorant (figures=)
    Entity

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    TNproud2b's method of watercooling his 2 celerons. He has a web site but something is wrong with it.

    ------------------
    WINDOWS HAS NOT DECTECTED A KEYBOARD PLEASE PRESS 'F1' TO CONTINUE OR 'F2' TO ABORT.
    whatever

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    I'm currently runnning my Celeron466@602 stable (86MHz FSB). Boots fine to Win at 616, boots sometimes at 644(yep!).

    Thing is, at 616 the CPU-temp at idle is 25C, and when enabling CpuIdle the temps drops to 5-8C. If I just could make the temps stable at 5C or below, I'm pretty sure I could make it run stably at 644<grin>, which then would allow me to use the 1/3-devider of the FSB, cause these high FSB's gives my hdd's a hard time.

    Thats the problems you have to deal with when OC'ing the 466<600

    ...oh, did I just hear anybody mention watercooling???

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chico, CA USA
    Posts
    6
    hey jopey,

    Do the celerons have to be be matched? Or can you run a 400a and a 366a together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •