Overclocking celeron 400
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Overclocking celeron 400

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    10

    Overclocking celeron 400

    I try to overclock my celeron from 400 to 450. When i load windows 98, there is no problems even when i use some programs word, excel, quicken.....Then i reboot and i have a message "invalid disk system" or windows
    98 cant find some files in system.ini

    I have:
    -celeron 400
    -128 ram
    -hd: seagate 8.4 Go (st38420A)
    -video card:guillemot xentor 32
    -motherboard: msi-6163

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    304
    o/c 400 to 450 using FSB 75Mhz should run really smooth with the default settings and shouldn't do much harm to your system. As much as it seemed like that speed corrupted your HD, it could just be a software problem.
    Have you tried increasing your core voltage to 2.05v? or higher?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    It appears that your hard drive can't hack the 37.5 MHz PCI clock. Some Seagates have this problem. Try unchecking DMA in the hard drive properties under Control Panel, System Properties. Many hard drives that corrupt or have problems with DMA on don't with DMA off. If it's OK then, get a new Quantum or Western Digital hard drive; they both O/C fine up to the 83 MHz FSB. You should get a new hard drive because O/C'ing your CPU while crippling the hard drive by turning off DMA doesn't make a lot of sense.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    10
    I try with 2.10 Volt but it doesnt work: My hd crash. Also, my hd has 5 partitions. When i overclock the celeron, it corrupts files in all the partitions i accessed during the overclocking.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Penang,Malaysia
    Posts
    69
    looks like your hdd doesn't like 37.5mhz pci bus speed....try 100mhz bus so your pci will run at 33 default by increasing voltage and get a better heatsink.btw,your cel400 is slot1 or socket370?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    10
    Celeron is slot one.
    And how do you change the bus speed?
    I have an Award bios

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    10
    I try a 100 mhz bus speed and i have the same problem

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    304
    Try this:

    1. Try FSB 92Mhz, which underclocks your PCI to 92/3=30.6Mhz.

    2. Take out your HD, IDE cable everything, and put them back in carefully.

    3. Re-format and Re-install your OS.

    btw, could it also be a boot-sector virus?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    10
    I cant have a 92 mhz bus speed( it is 75,83 then 100). So, i select 100 mhz * 4=400mhz
    and i had the following error message: CMOS checksum error

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    10
    Also, i can overclock my celeron to 411 mhz with the following settings: 83 mhz/41 * 5=411 mhz.

    Also, i notice that every time i format my hd(fat 32) i have the following message: recording bad clusters. So, I try with fat16 and i dont have this message.(5 partitions)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    304
    You are aware that Celeron 400 has the multiplier lock on 6. In other words, you can only use 75x6, 83x6, or 100x6.. Any other Multiplier settings may cause problems. Blame that on Intel.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Penang,Malaysia
    Posts
    69
    how come you can get 411 by changing the multiplier??the multiplier is locked at 6.Perhaps you succeeded in changing it?????

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    10
    I can overclock my celeron to 411 mhz(68*6)
    Also, i send a e-mail to seagate and they say:
    "That would be an issue with your controller card. The drive does not negotiate
    with the pci bus only the controller.
    This may be driver/or overclocking related. For further information you will
    need to contact Microsoft and your motherboard manufacturer."
    "This is an operating system issue. The drive only stores 0's and 1's. Contact
    Microsoft for further information.
    If you are overclocking that may be the issue"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •