i cant run my k6-2 400 @450!!! any ideas
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: i cant run my k6-2 400 @450!!! any ideas

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Tempe,AZ,US
    Posts
    46

    i cant run my k6-2 400 @450!!! any ideas

    i have tried several times to o/c my k6-2 to 450 from 400 and it wont work. I have tried several different voltages, tried running pc100 at 112, and tried 100*4.5, i cant get it, i get some windows error. but it does start, any ideas.

    Thanks
    AMD kicks @$$, Intel bites @$$

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    6
    Hi,

    A lot of boards will have trouble going over 400 Mhz due to power requirements. What are you using ?

    ddd

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Liverpool, Merseyside, England
    Posts
    330
    I couldn't run my 350@400 until I upped the voltage to 2.5v. I have some extra case colling. Make sure you have the latest bios for your mobo as well.

    later

    Col.

    ------------------
    Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand.

    Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand.
    HWC members gallery
    www.hwcpics.totalserve.co.uk


  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Tempe,AZ,US
    Posts
    46
    I have an AX59 Pro Mb with the newest bios.

    I have heard that ax59 pro is a good socket 7 mb

    Do i have to have somekind of cooling device or a fan?
    AMD kicks @$$, Intel bites @$$

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    6
    Hi,

    Maybe you need to flash the BIOS. Found this at the Aopen site.

    http://www.aopenpc.com/tech/softwrdl/mb/bios/ax59pro.htm

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    1,544
    You havent stated your voltage, maybe you need to up that to get it to work. Extra cooling wont get you an o/c it will just cool the cpu down so it can operate at a constant temp and minimize errors caused by overheating.
    A Dog is a Cat with More hair

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Notts, UK
    Posts
    20
    I successfully overclocked my K6-2 400 (Microstar MS5169 Mobo) to 450 by upping the multiplier to 4.5X (obviously). At first this didnt work but as soon as i increased the CPU voltage by 0.1V to reduce the effect of thermal noise, it ran fine. I used a CoolerMaster 650MHz rated Heatsink+Fan, and also a thin layer of thermal paste between the chip and the heatsink to increase thermal conductivity. I also run rain V1.0 in windows to provide software aided cooling too. I havent yet tried 500Mhz, but i may do in the near future.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    West Plam Beach FL
    Posts
    174
    Mad_Mike rain V1.0 were did you get it.

    ------------------
    Have Fun & Good Luck!!!!
    Have Fun and Good Luck!!
    My Home Page
    www.badasplace.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Notts, UK
    Posts
    20
    Rain V1.0 is available at the following URL:

    http://cpu.simplenet.com/rain10.zip

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •