What Cooling Device For Overclocking AMD K6-2 350 to 500MHz ?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: What Cooling Device For Overclocking AMD K6-2 350 to 500MHz ?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
    Posts
    9

    What Cooling Device For Overclocking AMD K6-2 350 to 500MHz ?

    Hello Everyone,

    I just want your recommends on what cooling device is best if I wanna overclock my K6-2 350MHz to 500MHz ?

    Thank You!
    -------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Southern United States
    Posts
    1,047
    All I can say is- Good luck. You're going to need it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,771
    Maybe you should try setting the case OUTSIDE the Igloo and let the artic wind blow on it!


    ------------------
    Mike
    www.monster-machines.com
    Mike
    Mechanical Engineer
    Dell Computer Corporation
    Server Development

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
    Posts
    9
    hey be serious guys...
    -------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Chico, CA, United States
    Posts
    278
    Most of us with 450s can barely reach 500MHz, let alone do it on a 350. You would be quite lucky to reach 450MHz, but most probable for you is 400MHz or somewhere around there. The AMD K6X series, in it's current form, is not designed to run at speeds of 500MHz. Unless you got a really good chip, you are going to have to wait until AMD releases the .18u and copper-based K6-IIIs before you can hit 500MHz and beyond.

    Try it at 450 and if you can reach that, be happy.

    -JGene

    [This message has been edited by JGene (edited 08-16-99).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
    Posts
    9
    I tried 450 but my computer will always crashed... and in CPUmark99... it got illegal operation... so I can only reach 400... what cooling device good for going 450... ?

    Thanks.
    -------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Chico, CA, United States
    Posts
    278
    Alphas are really good, but now I'd have to reccomend the Big-Mofo REX fan from 3dfxcool--that's the only fan out there that can best the Alphas. But make sure it can fit into your case, I've heard lots of people complaining about that.

    -JGene

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    186
    Nuts N Bolts '98 shows that my K6/2-350 is running at 427mhz. That's with all the correct jumper settings. Is N&B accurate? My friend has a PII-350 and it has his @ 350. Why is this.
    Systems Administrator

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA.
    Posts
    2,906
    It all depends on your m/b and cpu you may be able to go up to 450 BUT you will have to increase cpu core voltage to meet the needs of the increased bandwith.

    I had my k62 333 at 402.5 at 115(bus)x3.5(multiplier)at 2.6 volts.

    you should try 100x4.5 at 2.6 volts,then 2.5 and see if its stable,by running some app's.

    cooling -you might make 500 with 4 peltiers sandwiched and a liquid cooler at the cost of a new athlon..............

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
    Posts
    9
    Thank You JGene for informing me that cool cooling device - BigMofo REX !

    But Somehow... I live in Malaysia... I hope I can buy it here... cuz my dad dont likes me buying stuff from the internet using credit cards... as he does not trust that security cuz Malaysia havent got a VERY GOOD security...

    anyway Silicon Scream, 427 speed is by the bus speed 95.25x4.5 and it will be 428 if u divide by urself... I got that speed and it runs stable... somehow when I benchmark using CPUMark99 and compare to 100x4 = 400 ... the 400 is even faster then 427

    Well cuz the bus speed is more important in perfomance... somehow my motherboard fried up when I tried to get 112 bus speed cuz someone tells me to add more voltage - I put 3.45 and it fries up... unstartable anymore... I am waiting for my dad to send it to the shop where I bought it (well it's far away from my house... takes 2 hours to get there)

    ---------------------------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen
    -------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen/

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Chico, CA, United States
    Posts
    278

    I've ordered from 3dfxcool before, and I heard one guy who ordered his fan and he lived in England, so overseas shipping is of no problem to them.

    As for your motherboard voltages, I am surely hoping that you are talking about a 3.45V i/o core and not the CPU core--which is only rated between 2.2V and 2.5V on K6-2s. Running it at a voltage that high is a surefire way to BBQing your chip.

    -JGene

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
    Posts
    9
    I bought the K6-2 with a motherboard...
    recently the technician helped me to install these things... and what I discovered is that he put the CPU core at 3.2V

    so Is he wrong ? he should be sued ?

    anyway... is my 230watts power supply is enough for that 3dfxcool FAN ?

    Thanks.

    ---------------------------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen/

    [This message has been edited by AMD~Athlon (edited 08-19-99).]
    -------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen/

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Houston TX. USA
    Posts
    2,308
    Your technician should go back to school,CPU at 3.2volts? My MB wont even go that high.you will burn that chip out real quick,set it at 2.2-2.4 vdc.My K6-2 300 runs at 400 with 2.3volts.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
    Posts
    9
    Yeah that was what I was thinking... 3.2V is too much and it will fry my cpu... I should have complained to them of what have they done to my CPU... they do this to make more money !!

    They think that I was young and dont know anything about this... now IF they dont give me a claim from the warranty... lets see what I will do to them - complaints sent to the consumer association!

    That is what I gonna do!
    -------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen/

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
    Posts
    9
    Yeah that was what I was thinking... 3.2V is too much and it will fry my cpu... I should have complained to them of what have they done to my CPU... they do this to make more money !!

    They think that I was young and dont know anything about this... now IF they dont give me a claim from the warranty... lets see what I will do to them - complaints sent to the consumer association!

    That is what I gonna do!
    -------------------------
    http://members.xoom.com/tzechuen/

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •