How to overclock my P3-450@558 on BX6 v.2 ?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to overclock my P3-450@558 on BX6 v.2 ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    25

    How to overclock my P3-450@558 on BX6 v.2 ?

    First of all, I'm just a newbie of this overclocking field. I just got a boxed P3-450 chip today and wondering...

    - How can I set to overclock @558 from BIOS?
    - It comes with the original fan from Intel, do I need to replace it with a bigger one?

    Thanks in advance!

    Network Administrator, MCSE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    69
    You have to set your Front side bus
    to 124 mHz. The multiplier in the
    chip is locked at 4.5 so
    124 * 4.5 = 558mHz. I'm not sure
    how stable it will be but you'll
    find out. You might want to look into
    getting a better fan/heatsink setup.
    overclocking makes extra heat and you'll
    need the extra power. Alpha cooling systems
    are pretty good. check out www.3dfxcool.com
    This statement is a lie.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    84
    My P3 450 was not stable at 558 it crashed
    half way into the 3Dmark99 benchtest.
    It was stable at 527 however I have cas 3
    ram which could be the cause of the crash.
    I've heard of others having sucess.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    25
    I had my CPU just overclocked to 558mhz and was running different apps and 3D games for half days. Everything seems to be fine and stable. However, it's now my first priority to get a bigger fan coz the CPU and my AGP video card was burning so hot. The funny thing was my air condition unit near my pc case so close, which I could open it up and blowed the freezing air right into the case. The A/C became an excellent cooling system for my cpu!! I will try to overclock it to 600mhz once I get a bigger heat sink and fan.

    Thanks Tharkun8 !!

    Network Administrator, MCSE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Severn, MD, USA
    Posts
    20
    Rocky-- What motherboard are you using? Check out HardwareCentrals review of the Soyo SY-6BA+:
    http://www.hardwarecentral.com/hardwarecentral/reviews/907/4/
    It says its stable to 558MHz..
    Just my 2 cents worth.
    -----------> Cruiser

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    25
    I'm using Abit BX-6 rev2. It has been very stable @558 and @600 mhz and I'm very satisfy with ABit's quality. Also, I have just placed an order for another newly released Abit BE-6 motherboard for my second pc.
    Network Administrator, MCSE

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •