Celery 366@550, lock up
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Celery 366@550, lock up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    74

    Celery 366@550, lock up

    BH6 Celeron 366 Sl36c week 21
    I first gave voltage 2.2
    It ran fine, i took 3D mark and got
    3D:4366 (voodoo 3000)
    CPU:5185

    then I tried to run Quake 2 and the computer locked up.
    I restarted and locked up again at the Windows 98 splash screen.
    I took it back down to 366.
    what could it be.....?
    heat? I have Cool Master socket 360 hs/f on.
    More cooling?
    more juice? or too much juice?

    where can I get the program that check cpu tempture?
    win system or something?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
    Posts
    320
    Your problem is for sure Heat ! Get a better heatsink/fan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    69
    I'm having lockup problems with my 366
    too. My processor is week 15 and I'm not
    sure how good it is yet. I'm running it at
    2.1 volts and I'm locking up too. I reboot
    just fine though, so I'm not sure if it's heat or not. I'm ordering an Alpha fan and
    I'm adding more memory. I'm only running 64
    meg of Corsair CAS-2 memory right now. I
    think in my case its memory though because
    i'm also seeing the minimize and maximize
    buttons blank out which is usually lack of
    memory power issue. Any feedback would be welcome.

    My system is
    celeron 366
    Powerleap Pl-PII slotket
    Asus P2B-Ds m/b
    ATi rage fury Video
    64 meg Corsair CAS-2 memory
    This statement is a lie.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    74
    Will Alpha cooler be enough?
    Or should I go for bigger one?
    I'm using Windsystem to check my motherboard temp, what is good tempture for stable 366@550?


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
    Posts
    320
    Alpha will probably be enough.
    A good temp is below 40C

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Posts
    182
    The only 366's that go to 550 and beyond are from week 21 or greater. I have not heard too much about anything overclocking well before week 21.

    LIke they say, overclocking is like rolling dice.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    158
    Mine used to lock every once in a while at 550. After about 30-40 hours tho it smoothed out, and hasn't locked since.
    Every dark cloud has a silver lining, but lightning kills hundreds of idiots every year who are looking for it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    545
    OK, suppose I get a celey 366 after week 21, and o/c to 550, with a matsonic 7192 board. What are the chance that with just that original CPU fan, or aybe it is an OEM CPU with a Pentium fan, that it will not lock up?


    I have not tried o/cing before, just want to learn and have other people's experience known first.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    69
    etsean,
    I don't know if anyone could give you chances of lockup. With CPU's, you
    either get lucky or you don't. There
    are a few retailers that sell 366's
    gauranteed to run at 550 because they
    I assume they bench-test them. as to
    cooling, the stock fan is designed to run
    only enough to cool chip running at marked
    speed. Anything over that, and chances
    are you'll need better cooling. I've seen
    good things about Alpha fans and I've got
    one on the way to me now. Go to www.3dfxcool.com to check some out.
    This statement is a lie.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •