Celeron 300a or 366? (Slot-1)
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Celeron 300a or 366? (Slot-1)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Auburn, ME 04210
    Posts
    234

    Celeron 300a or 366? (Slot-1)

    Here's the question. With a choice between the 300a vs. the 366a (Slot-1), which should I get? I have a place where I can get the 300a for $65 (Costa Rica) or $70 (Malaysia). The 366 runs about $80 bucks or so. I've heard that some 366's can get to the big 550, but that the success rate is fairly low. This is going into a brand new system, so the PCI devices *should* be able to handle a odd bus speed (I'm getting PC100 RAM).

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
    Posts
    320
    366 Slot 1 are very bad overclockers.. I recommend you 366 PPGA OEM, batch SL36C from Malay,, almost all them hit 550 easily.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1998
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    772
    Thats correct, if you plan on overclocking a 366, you best get a PPGA processor and an adapter card. The two of those together should be about the same cost as a Slot 1 processor anyways.

    If possible, get your hands on an OEM SL36C, Malaysian, week 20-23 or later. Those are hitting 550MHz with a relatively high success rate now.

    ------------------
    "In the computer industry, there are three kinds of lies;
    lies, damn lies, and benchmarks."
    "In the computer industry, there are three kinds of lies;
    lies, damn lies, and benchmarks."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    57
    Rather get 366 pga and slot1 converter than slot1 processor.

    A366 slot1 is not excactly bad overclocker, since it is almsot guaranteed to run 456.

    However 366 pga does even better and will propably do 550.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Auburn, ME 04210
    Posts
    234
    Thanks for the advice. One more question though, will a Slot 1 adapter hinder overclocking? I've got my eyes on a BE6 motherboard and will want a PIII soon, so I'd prefer to stay Slot 1 if I can.

    [This message has been edited by jeff_w (edited 08-11-99).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
    Posts
    320
    I tested many adapters and with all them my Celery 366 (PPGA SL36C Week 22) run fine at 550 on ABit BE6



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1998
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    772
    The adapter should make absolutely no difference to speed, stability, or overclockability, whatsoever.

    ------------------
    "In the computer industry, there are three kinds of lies;
    lies, damn lies, and benchmarks."
    "In the computer industry, there are three kinds of lies;
    lies, damn lies, and benchmarks."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Posts
    17
    As long as you get a quality SlotKet adaptor (MSI, Abit, Asus), you should have no problems. I would stay away from the Abit BE6, as I have heard about many nightmares with them (not holding voltages, etc.). Get an Abit BH6 v.1.1. It has all of the toys of the BH6, just without the semi-funcitonal ATA/66. Be sure to get rev 1.1, not 1.01, of the BH6, as they changed the clock generator to give you more bus speeds. You should also be sure to get a Celeron 366 PPGA Malay made in week 14 or later. Week 13 PPGA celeries are as bad as the early Slot-1 366s, but strangely, almost ALL of the PPGA week 14 366s will run 550 without problems (they changed something between week 13 and week 14).

    Good luck,

    Nack

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •