overclocking amd k6-2 400 up to 500
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: overclocking amd k6-2 400 up to 500

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    bern, swizerland
    Posts
    12

    overclocking amd k6-2 400 up to 500

    overclocking to 450 (2.3 volt) is no problem
    overclocking to 475 is possible at 2.4 volt but i have windows acces violations, means can't lounch windows, but by then the com. boot without any problems.
    by overcklocking to 500 at 2.6 v i have the same problem.

    what can i do now ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1998
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    705
    Put the clock rate up to 800MHz and the voltage up to 3.5V, leave it there for 2 days or until you smell smoke. Then throw your computer in the bin, buy a new one and don't try to overclock it more than you should.

    </sarcasm>, however if your computer isn't stable at 475 what makes you think it'll work at 500? Sounds to me like you're pretty close to doing the above as it is. Leave it at 450 and be happy with it, or buy some mother of a big heatsink and fan, add a peltier if necessary and try and get it stable at 475.

    Geoff

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Tempe,AZ,US
    Posts
    46
    Im having the same problem, kinda. I can't even get mine to 450. Does anybody have any ideas?
    AMD kicks @$$, Intel bites @$$

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    27
    try to build yourself a watercooler. lots of sites are around here with topic watercooling. don't do it only for your k6-2,
    imagine what it will allow you when you should get this amazing k7 how i will do.
    only as a little example: with cold water i got my k6-2 350 up to 500!!! im not joking
    but @ 2,9V but it's only 1degree celsius so i think Voltage is ok

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    27
    excuse, i meant 12 degree celsius

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    632
    Mine runs stable at 450MHZ at 2.3V and upto 472.5 4.5*105MHZ. I am only able to run 500MHZ at safe mode. I can launch any programs though.... Sisoft multimedia score is higher than PIII 500. I have Compaq OEM mobo with 400MHZ AMD II. I am receiving alpha cooler in 2 days so I will test to see if I can hit 500MHZ stable. Oh it is at 2.8V. Pretty high..... compaq mobo only has 2.3v 2.8v 2.9v 3.Xv......


    ------------------
    PIII 650@806
    PC133 128MB ECC
    ABIT BE6
    TNT2 Ultra
    WD SCSI2 10K 5.2ms 18.3G
    Vortex2 w/ digital out
    Sony MHC-5500 Digital Signal Processer - 30 equalizers and Dynamic Sound

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    bern, swizerland
    Posts
    12
    to cybernayt

    buy a better cooler/fan then put up the voltage. what is your mb ?
    what are your settings ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    12
    Jokes aside, I don't recommend overclocking for AMD K6-2 series processors, at any speed, I've reliable source. Earlier,
    3 mths ago, I tried to overclock my AMD K6-2
    300 to 333.It booted up with 333 Mhz but from
    thereon it was unstable & freezes every 15 minutes or less.Don't let anybody tell you that extra cooling will solve it, cos your chip's life will be short, that is if you intend to donate to the Salvation Army for
    parts & buy a new one.

    Hope that helps
    Charles

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    632
    How long are you going to use your computer? My P200 MMX lasted only about a year with me.... and I am sure next year around this time I will get a new computer. It will only shorten the life of CPU a little. They usually last around 10 years or more(depending on your usage). I think even 5 years will be more than enough. Think about you using 486 computer that came out 5 years ago...... how much do they cost now? Even 300MHZ AMD cost less than $40 now.
    I am happy with my computer running at 450MHZ oc rock solid.......

    ------------------
    PIII 650@806
    PC133 128MB ECC
    ABIT BE6
    TNT2 Ultra
    WD SCSI2 10K 5.2ms 18.3G
    Vortex2 w/ digital out
    Sony MHC-5500 Digital Signal Processer - 30 equalizers and Dynamic Sound

  10. #10
    I have a K6ii 380 runnign at 430 (4.5*95) by in creasing the voltage to 2.2, and it has been doing the seti@home thing 18hours+ a day for teh lst 3 weeks - not a single crash.

    I would go futher but the friend who I am borrowin gthe process or from is (understandably) anti-voltage increases.

    I rekon, if the processor was mine it would go to 450 of 475, and maby loose a couple of years operating life.:-)

    As for voltage increases, well I have run an IBM MII @3.6v (up from 2.8) for 6 months, sold it on and it is still going.

    Andrew Scott

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •