Overclocking a K6-2/450 to 600 Mhz?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Overclocking a K6-2/450 to 600 Mhz?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Tigard, Or, USA
    Posts
    54

    Overclocking a K6-2/450 to 600 Mhz?

    I am currently building a new computer which will have the K6-2 processor. I have read on several other message boards that some people were successfull in overclocking their K6-2 400's to 600 (and in some cases 612) stabily using many fans in the case, and large heatsinks.

    I am just wondering what the best aproach to overclocking my k6-2 450 to 550-600 is.

    I plan on using an alpha heatsink, and will have several fans in the case, which is a tower, but, will this cooling method work? Do I need to use peltiers or liquid cooling (which I plan on playing arround with on another computer)?

    Any comments would be helpful.

    My best,

    William

    The computer specs are as follows:
    Epox ep-mvp3g-m motherboard
    256 Megs of PC100 SDRAM
    Diamond Viper V770 Ultra
    Western Digital Expert 18 Gig 7200 RPM
    Sound Blaster Live
    Note to self: No matter how bad life gets, there's always beer.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
    Posts
    52
    Well Wfrench, I never saw one K6II-400 running higher than 500, I would like to see one of those miraculous computers that run at so higher speeds, mine, one K6II-300 is running since february at 400Mhz at nominal voltage, 2.2 volts, and in a cheaper MoBo PCCHIPS M577(by the way, is the same chipset of your MoBo,MVP3).
    Even using a peltier or liquid coolers I think it's very hard to achieve so high speeds in this processor, but like the poet was sad: There are many things between the sky and the earth!!
    Good luck and tell us if you will have success

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Tigard, Or, USA
    Posts
    54
    Yes, the chipset is MVP3. It could just be that the 400's overclocked to 600+ were either false statements, or a combo of just getting luck and getting a highly overclockable chip and having good cooling (?)

    Anyways, I will try 550, and I will let you know if I get 600.

    My best,

    William
    Note to self: No matter how bad life gets, there's always beer.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    632
    I have tried to oc to 500MHZ and my comp won't start. I successfully oc to 450MHZ 2.3v rock solid. I wish I can break that 500MHZ mark..... I hate changing bus speed 'cuz I want a clean number not like 472.5....

    Let me know if you could break 500MHZ mark. People say 500MHZ is the max. for AMD II
    PIII 650@806
    PC133 128MB ECC
    ABIT BE6
    TNT2 Ultra
    WD SCSI2 10K 5.2ms 18.3G
    Vortex2 w/ digital out
    Sony MHC-5500 Digital Signal Processer - 30 equalizers and Dynamic Sound

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Chico, CA, United States
    Posts
    278
    The only way that you are going to reach anything beyond 500MHz on a K6-2/III is using liquid-based cooling or something along the lines of Kyrotech's vapor-phase refridgeration units which can cool your chip down to -40C.

    The K6-2/IIIs weren't ment to run at those speeds and I don't think the die is capable of such overclocking feats without some sort of super-cooling. AMDs weren't made to push the 500MHz mark--at least not on the current chip dies, maybe with the .18-based chips they can, but I don't think they can attain that speed now, with a few rare exceptions.

    Most people can't reach 500MHz on their 450s, however most people who own a 400 can reach 450. I have heard of one guy who claimed he overclocked his 450 to 550MHz, but I belive that was a falsity.

    I too ordered myself an Alpha fan, but I don't think that would be anywhere near enough to cool my chip to a sufficient enough temperature to run properly at 500MHz and beyond. Maybe after changing the swapping the peltier's cooling fan I may be able to pull it off but I doubt it...

    Good luck overclocking, but I think you will probably have to settle for something around 475...

    -JGene

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    2,676
    I agree. I think that the problem is in the on-die cache. The only way that I can attempt to boot at 500 is to disable the internal AND external cache!! This is with a K6-III 450. Best I can get is 475 out of my 450 and 450 out of my 400. I am running a Pa-2013 and I know that this motherboard will not run higher than 100 MHZ FSB so my O/C options are limited. It will still hang with many errors in the windows boot even if I am able to post at 500MHZ. Perhaps a different MB may lend to some overclocking and much better cooling. As is said above - I believe most of the claims of those speeds are false.

    Current Main Rig:
    AMD FX55 @ 2.9 GHz
    2 GB PC 3200 DDR RAM
    ABIT KN8 SLi motherboard
    ATI X1900XT O/C to XTX speeds

    Retired Rig:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @ 2387 MHz. (217*11)
    512MB DDR RAM @ 436 MHz. (PC 3700)
    Abit AN7 motherboard
    BFG GeForce 6800GT OC!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    632
    I am able to run my 400 to 472.5MHZ solid 2.3V stable. I tried to run at 500MHZ but it only boots up half way and stops. I am able to boot up at safe mode. Sisoft multimedia Benchmark score is higher than PIII 550!


    ------------------
    PIII 650@806
    PC133 128MB ECC
    ABIT BE6
    TNT2 Ultra
    WD SCSI2 10K 5.2ms 18.3G
    Vortex2 w/ digital out
    Sony MHC-5500 Digital Signal Processer - 30 equalizers and Dynamic Sound

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •